Skip to content

10 Reasons I Love Being a Boy-Mom

January 10, 2012

picture13

1. Nobody is ever going to shop my closet or borrow my best boots.

2. At roadside rest stops,  I peacefully visit the ladies’ while the three of them go have target practice.

3. Despite no encouragement on our part, they can turn anything – anything – into a weapon. It boggles the mind…terrifying and fascinating at the same time.

4. My Christmas tree doesn’t just have beautiful heirloom ornaments passed down to me from my mother, and collected from all over the world. It has Yoda.

5. The amount of time it takes all three of my guys to get their hair cut just happens to be the same amount of time it takes for me to get a pedicure. Same salon, FTW.

6. Watching them sleep – they don’t sleep  gracefully. They FALL – warriors on the battlefield, arms out-stretched, legs askew. As my friend Tickled Red says, “It’s a symphony of elbows, knees and feet that never changes… no matter how old they become.”

7. My boys (mostly) don’t give a flying flip what they wear. I do care, and I get to pick out their clothes and they (almost) never argue.

8. Every morning, I get to shower and dress in complete and glorious solitude. Except for my husband wandering in…(Around the age of 3, they realized I had stuff they didn’t and they had stuff I didn’t, and that was the last time they got to walk in on me getting dressed.)

9. Brothers. Words unnecessary:

Photo by Rosanne Parket

10. In their eyes, I’m healer, comforter, and cheerleader. When they take my face in their hands and kiss me sweetly on the cheek, I know that, in their eyes, I’m the most beautiful woman in th world.

At least for now.

Grace and peace be yours in abundance,

sig

The conversation continues over on Facebook. Follow my author page for more boy-mom goodness, insights and resources about living a shiny, abundant and grateful life. 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Bethany permalink
    January 10, 2012 10:49 pm

    Love it! So sweet and funny. That picture of Scrappy asleep is hilarious! It’s like he was in the middle of something and just conked out.

  2. Cynde permalink
    January 11, 2012 6:23 am

    Adelle, unless you are a Single “boy mom” :) Then you navigate taking them into the women’s restroom and stand them on your feet for target practice. Not complaining, I love every minute of it!

    • January 11, 2012 8:03 am

      Cynde, my husband was raised by a single mom and we have often talked about how extraordinary she was to have raised kids by hers=elf while working several jobs. I have the greatest respect for those like you who are tackling this job on your own. Grace and peace to you, in abundance!

  3. January 11, 2012 7:23 am

    oooohhhh! this is such sweet reading. Before I had children I had visions of having and wanting 3 boys and what a joy to have a boy! when my firstborn was a boy! I now am the very happy mum of a boy and a girl, and now I have my daughter I wouldn’t change it for the world and it’s delicious in a different way. But your post really filled me up and I felt that joy right there with you. Enjoy every precious moment!

  4. January 15, 2012 11:09 pm

    #9 – love that :)

  5. January 17, 2012 3:16 pm

    I love this post Adelle.

  6. January 18, 2012 7:00 pm

    This is beautiful! I’m going to share it with all my boy-mom friends.

  7. February 2, 2013 12:38 pm

    As a mama to four boys I loved reading this! It made my heart full. Thank you.

  8. March 21, 2014 7:39 pm

    I’ve been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or blog posts
    on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon
    this website. Studying this information So i’m happy to convey that I’ve an incredibly good
    uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I such
    a lot surely will make certain to don?t fail to remember
    this web site and provides it a look on a continuing basis.

We love comments! Tell us what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

