Skip to content

Be Still My Soul

September 11, 2012

I don’t like to be still. Still means boring. Unproductive. Lazy.

My life is rarely, if ever, still. With two small boys, and a husband who loves ambient noise, it’s not a quiet life.

I’ve always taken a bit of (misguided) pride in being a Martha, not a Mary. I’m a do-er, a get-things-done-er. If I found out that Jesus was on his way to my house, you better believe that I would be dusting and tidying up the place. I wouldn’t even think to just sit still and listen. It doesn’t come naturally to Me-Martha. Me-Martha resented Mary for sitting at the Savior’s feet to listen when there was so much stuff to be done. Me-Martha resents her stillness, her peace.

And yet, I find I long for stillness, for silence. My self-inflicted fatigue weighs me down. Nothing I am doing, the never-ending cycle of doing, fills me up. My habitual state is that of running-on-empty. How about you?

I stayed home from work with the dregs of a migraine today, soggy and groggy. Wiped out.

So, here I sit in a silent house. But for the occasional tussling of the cats, the house is completely still.

In the solitude and quiet of my empty house, I hear things I don’t normally hear.

I walk from room to room and I see things I would normally overlook.
Free from distractions, from interruptions, in stillness, I am finally
ready

to
listen.

Last week I had the pleasure to preview a new video series by Lisa Chan. True Beauty: Finding Your Identity in Jesus. Beautifully filmed and articulated, Be Still reminds Me-Martha that respite is right in front of me. We all have access to the same Jesus every day, why don’t we just sit at His feet?

Chan knows what it is like to be busy, to hurry. The film shows her going about her daily life, buying groceries, feeding kids, getting dinner, picking up the never-ending, ubiquitous house-full of lost shoes.

Yet she discovered the secret to survival – through an unexpected turn of events, she found herself alone for an entire weekend. Alone…with God.

As I watched, I found myself yearning for the stillness she spoke of - time of quiet with a trusted friend. Time to spiritually re-charge, without agenda, without purpose but to be in His presence and be still.

It sounds impossible. Where can I find any free time in this crazy work-a-day week? But after her video, I find that perhaps, it isn’t. Maybe I really do have the time, maybe what I’m trying to do isn’t really what I need to do…maybe what I need to do is simply…

As a mother of five children, co-founder of Cornerstone Community Church in Simi Valley, California, and wife of best-selling author and pastor Francis Chan, Lisa knows firsthand what it means to be overwhelmed, over-committed, and out of time. She has seen firsthand that women in the church are suffering from depression, anxiety, and stress at alarming rates—and recognizes that women need to make the choice to find hope and healing and truth from God’s presence and through His Word.

Be Still weaves Lisa’s teaching with the story of Susan, an amazing woman who found that being still with God was what she needed in order to overcome her struggle with a broken marriage.With this film, Chan comes alongside women in their walk with the Lord to give them the tools they need to be the person God intends them to be. True Beauty: Be Still is foundational and can be life-changing as women are convicted to take stock of their own reasons for not spending time with Jesus.

Maybe there’s something to this stillness after all…


3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2012 12:34 pm

    Of course I love this … exactly the theme of the book manuscript I am working on!

  2. Kassandra Thwaites permalink
    September 13, 2012 10:25 pm

    Thanks for sharing the video series by Lisa Chan (because of that I got to watch/read about other work that she and her husband did). Your blog has been a great resource and encouragement to me. So THANKS!!

Trackbacks

  1. Review: Lisa Chan’s DVD “Deny Yourself” | Adelle Gabrielson

We love comments! Tell us what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

