Skip to content

Flawed and Fearless Friday

September 13, 2012

Spent much time on Pinterest lately? Ever marvel at how blogging photography just gets better and better? Glossy picture-perfect crafts and darlingly-dressed children, gorgeous food, invitingly presented. Sheeny and perfect.

I don’t know about you, but my house doesn’t look like that. My food doesn’t look like that. And unless Rosanne Parket is taking the photos, my kids don’t look like that either. (We save the glossy, sheeny family for our every-other-year family photo shoot.) Real life looks pretty different in my house.

Kathi Lipp write this on her Facebook page a while back…

I may have to give up reading blogs.

Once again I’ve stumbled across a blog that my friend LOVES, and it’s all about a perfect family, who look perfect, who are making their clean eating, sugar-free snacks, (from scratch) as they do EVERY DAY, living on their pseudo-farm, where not only are they all hard workers, but their kids are all gifted. (and there are plenty of Instagram photos to document all this perfect-ness.)

It feels like a bunch of mini-Marthas (of the Christian variety) trying to out-perfect each other, and I have to say it concerns me.When all we are seeing is the perfect slice of a person’s life, it can make us, the reader, feel like there is something wrong with us because WE aren’t perfect. But WE are not designed to be perfect.John 16:33
“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

Let me see your dirty laundry.
Tell me about the time you messed up as a mom.
Tell me about that cobbler that tasted like actual shoes.

And let me know that you overcome, every day, with Jesus.

I have an idea. Let’s play a game. 

I’ll tell you some really dumb stuff I pulled off this week, we’ll all laugh about it, and then you get to tell me what YOU did that makes you gloriously human and flawed. Ready? Go. 

  1. I can’t cook. I mean, I truly cannot cook. I stink at stovetop. I really, really do. And it’s mortifying. I think this has something to do with my peersonality. When there’s more than one pan on the stove, I get all stressed and freaky and start to cry. last night, I had the brillant notion to make Chicken Parmigiana with zucchini noodles. Mmm-hmmm. Yupper. That was SUCH a great idea. I burned the chicken on one side and under-cooked the other. Gabe finally came home and rescued my meal and saved my ego (he didn’t laugh, not once). We all managed to enjoy a pleasant-ish (dinner with little boys never quite reaches the pleasant point, but we make a good attempt. If only one kid falls out of his chair or only one dish gets spilled, I call that a win.)
  2. The boys were horsing around at bedtime. (There’s an understatement). A la Three Stooges, they made synchronized flying leaps onto the bed at the same exact moment and… clocked heads. I swear you could see bluebirds circling overhead, both kids are holding their noggins and howling, but what does mama, do? I laughed. And kept laughing. I COULDN’T STOP LAUGHING! Between gasps for air, I holler for Gabe to bring ice packs. He showed up and started laughing, too, which made the victims wail all the louder. We tucked our head-trauma victims into bed with an ice pack apiece, still sniggering.It wasn’t one of my finer moments, But I have to give them a reason to need therapy one day, right?

Ok, your turn. What’s your favorite fail this week? Shout it out and celebrate – because it’s our flaws that make us human, and it’s our flaws that let the world see just how amazing Jesus when He’s at work in us. 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2012 8:35 am

    Can’t come up with a favorite fail but I could certainly post descriptions of my less than perfect house and list numerous times negative self talk accompanied the tasks at hand this past week. Wrote someone this morning that I had taken up the shield of faith recognizing those thoughts (and tears in one instance) were fiery darts of the evil one. Yes, Jesus uses me in my flawed, far less than perfect state. In one instance I had to find a temporary home for all the things dear husband piled in the entryway before he took his truck to the repair shop. The tools, Home Depot sacks, For Rent sign, and extension cord -all the things he uses working on the apartment he manages -along with the cups, Gatorade, chain with locks for the water jug, Granola bars, toilet paper, hand sanitizer-all the things he needs for the running group-architectural plans for the new church building, his straw hat, and the sun reflecting windshield screen were all thrown, not neatly stacked, right inside the door. Six ladies were due to arrive in less than a half hour to plan for upcoming women’s ministry. IMeeting took place, they didn’t care, and BTW ladder was up in the dining room with table pushed aside because the new light fixture we installed 2 weeks ago had a short and had to be taken down. Such is my life but I am glad this is not what defines me and I too can be flawed and fearless.

  2. sylvia judkins permalink
    September 14, 2012 8:59 am

    Funny thing just this morning I was thinking to myself “dare I post on FB the following”

    “Who has said to themselves this week “what did I do or not do as a parent to prompt this behavior from my dearly loved child? Did I not have enough love or patience, was I too busy in my career early in his life that I failed some particular need.” And then I thought no, I can’t post that! But now you are inviting to do just what I thought I couldnt …So there you have it, we might have a little curb appeal but this is the real stuff inside the house…parental doubt and teenage years….but who loves ya baby? Jesus does and it’s to the well I go for a dose of reality and comfort…..thanks for the invite Adelle.

    SJ

  3. Nancy Gallardo permalink
    September 14, 2012 9:26 am

    The other day I took little Anthony’s diaper off, so I could give him a bath. Well, he scratched me, so I placed him in his crib for a time out, without the diaper of course. I started the bath water, and when I came back, he was pointing at his mattres. He had peed, of course. I took him out, and started cleaning up. Once I was done, he came up to me with a cup full of water in his hand. I rushed to the bathroom where the water was still running. He had taken a cup and splashed water all over. All I could do was laugh and love him. Thanks for the invite to share my story :D

    • September 14, 2012 9:52 am

      Oh, Nancy – I have SO many stories just like this one! Thanks for taking the time to share yours.

  4. September 22, 2012 12:48 pm

    Love this because it is sooo true! I love how my life looks on Pinterest, but then I look around at how it truly looks in real life…messy, dysfunctional, and wonderful!

We love comments! Tell us what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

