Skip to content

Gratitude Monday: March 31

March 31, 2014

Gratitude Monday

 

This is what the past is for! Every experience God gives us, every person He puts in our lives is the perfect preparation for the future that only He can see.

-Corrie Ten Boom

Have you ever read Corrie Ten Boom’s memoir, The Hiding Place? Other than being an extraordinary account of Dutch Christian’s enslaved and sent to prison camps during WWII, the one thing that the book left me was this:

It is possible to be grateful in any circumstance.

I forget this. I want to be grateful for the good things, but being grateful for the not-so-good things? It’s a challenge.

My life is small. I am not facing extraordinary hardship or even a true enemy. I struggle with little things. I struggle to be a good parent, a loving wife, a gentle friend.

I want ot be thankful for these small challenges. I am thankful that they are not large ones. I am thankful for the persistence and tenacity that have built up within me…without them I would surely fail as a parent. I am thankful for the dark days following my mom’s illness and death, for they have allowed me to understand the value and importance of letting my own light shine, a light of my own. I am thankful for the ones who have gone before me, who light the way, and who are, even yet, waiting and cheering for all of us on the other side.

Your turn: What are YOU thankful for on this March Monday?

sig

The conversation continues on Facebook. Follow my page for more insights and resources about living a shiny, abundant and beautiful life. 

Like this post? Subscribe to receive future posts via email or a quarterly newsletter that positively glimmers with good stuff. 

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 31, 2014 9:02 am

    Oh I am thankful this morning for God’s saving GRACE! Yesterday in our morning church service almost 40 lives were saved from the clutches of the enemy! Nothing like I have EVER seen before!! Most of which thought they were saved….. my girls who professed Christ as their Savior when they were young, have been struggling with “knowing that they know” for a while. Yesterday… realizing that believing in Jesus was not enough – that they must believe ON HIM… surrendering their hearts & lives to HIM! They nailed it down yesterday and they are not only sisters by family…but sisters in CHRIST as well. Praise HIS NAME!!! May He BE GLORIFIED!!!

We love comments! Tell us what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

