Skip to content

Gratitude, Day 2

November 8, 2009

Use the alphabet as a fun and quick format for making a list of things for which you feel grateful. Share this list with your social network.

A: Apples. it’s fall and I love having a bowl-full on my table. I love that Scrappy now carries one around, knawing like a little squirrel for hours until it’s mangled and bruised.

B: Boys. I have three and love them dearly. Most of the time.

C: C stands for Scooby, my firstborn. My superhero/astronaut/pilot with the bleach-blonde hair and aqua blue eyes who has a memory that is scary-quick, and is absorbing knowledge faster than you can say “mensa.”

D: Daddy. Mine. My dad has been my rock the last 10 years, serving as both father and mother, confidant and nurturer, when mom was taken from us. He made such a perfect choice in partner when he brought Nancy into our lives, too. I’m really grateful for such a wonderful dad. Thank you Dad for my dad.

E: Email. I’m grateful for such an easy way to keep in touch with people.

F: Friends. Loyal, long-distance, local, whatever. I love ’em.

G: Gabe. I’m so so so so so so so so so so so so so grateful for the amazing partner, friend, lover and father that I’m married to.

H: Halloween. I love corny, campy decorations and this is the first of a bunch of great winter holidays that give me an excuse to go country for a few months.

I: iPhones. I don’t have one, but one of the preschool teachers does and it’s been the only way to drop Scrap off each morning without screaming and tears. He loves the Star Wars app…while he’s slinging his lightsaber, I can sneak away without any Mama Drama.

J: Job. As in the one I’ve got now, which allows my kids to enjoy this great school and gives me the time to enjoy them.

K: Karen, my mom. I am so grateful for the 20 great years I had with her. I am so grateful she made me pull weeds, sit for her while she sketched, and sat and listened to my adolescent angst. My garden, her drawings on my wall, and my sense of self all hearken back to her legacy.
And that’s just the tip of the iceberg.

L: Love. As in the unconditional variety. I’m grateful for that.

M: M is for Scrappy, my baby. The one I still rock in the middle of the night after he falls out of bed or has a nightmare. The one with the fiery temper who’s got dimples, and knows how to use them.

N: Nancy. My step-mom, friend, and one of those gifts from God you never expected but find you cannot live without. Especially now that I might be without her till next May. Bleah.

O: Opthamology. I no longer live in dreaded fear of retinal detachment.

P: Papa. The best granddad two boys could possibly imagine, who loves them, coaches them, challenges them, and takes them flying. Top that. Besides, he’s my daddy and I wouldn’t have survived 1990-2006 without him.

Q: Quick dinners – from places like Trader Joe’s and Costco. When they say “organic” it alleviates my guilt for not actually cooking.

R: Roses. If I’m blessed enouogh to get there, I will be that crazy, old lady who spends all her time with her flowers. I have 14 roses in my yard, and I know every one by name. My mother even taught me that if you speak French to them, they grow faster.
S: Mrs. S., and all the educators at our school, who don’t just care for my kids, they LOVE my kids. They are thrilled when they succeed, and heartbroken when they don’t. They encourage and support ME just as much. I couldn’t ask for a better group of men and women to help me raise my boys into loving, Godly men.T: Time. When I have it, I’m grateful for it. Time to relax and do nothing. Time with my girlfriends. Time to sit down at the table with my family. Time to hang out and watch The Backyardigans with one on each side.

U: Underwater. As in, being underwater. With my kids. In the swimming pool, in the lake – one of the few activities we ALL were able to enjoy together ALL summer long.

V: Views of my backyard. I love looking out my windows now on my pretty patio. It makes the plants even look nicer.

W: Window. The one behind my office which looks out over the preschool playground where Scrappy, at this very moment, is pushing himself along on a tricycle with his feet. We don’t have that pedaling thing down yet.

X: The Roman numeral for 10, and the sign of the cross. The reason I can wake up and face each day no matter the challenges or the hardships or the joys. Because He died for me.

Y: Y is for Yahoo! and all those wonderful portals and search engines and blogs that have made the world smaller and life much more interesting. And have also provided me with another great tool of procrastination.

Z: Ok, I’m completely stuck. Z stands for…zippers? zany? zinc oxide? There it is! I’m grateful for zinc oxide and what it does for Scrappy’s backside. How’s that?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2009 6:28 pm

    >That was beautiful, and funny! So fun to read. What a great challenge to take on.

  2. December 3, 2009 11:35 pm

    >i so need to start a gratitude days blog, i'm behind on all i am grateful for!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

