Skip to content

>Worth Drinking?

November 11, 2009

>As aforementioned, my career downshift has altered our spending habits considerably – surely a worthy exercise – forcing a great deal more creativity and research. One of the luxuries I really miss is the full rack stocked with Alexander Valley wines picked up on our bi-annual trek up to Mendo. Yummy stuff – from places like Husch, Navarro and Brutocao – always on hand in varietals like Chenin Blanc, Zinfandel, dry Gewurtz and Pinot Noir.

But the wine rack is empty, and I’m now forced to see what $5 will get me at TJ’s. So far, I would have to say my conclusion is, not much. I think the happy spot is $7.99. We like Novella – so far we’ve been happy with the Synergy Red and Synergy White, and the Cab was ok, too. Conversely, I tried a Chilean number last week that tasted like pepperocinis. Weird.

What about you? Any suggestions?

p.s. check out the link to Mendo – our favorite little hideaway – and those great photos? Yup. Gabe took ’em.

p.p.s. just found this blog on TJ’s wines – fasinating! I don’t agree with everything he says, but it’ll be nice to have an opinion before buying. And yes, I “borrowed” the photo above from his blog. Full disclosure and all that.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2009 6:55 pm

    >I love the Francis Coppola Zinfandel for a good red. Really yummy. For white, you turned me on to La Crema and I love it! Both might be around $10 per bottle though, I can't remember.

  2. November 12, 2009 5:31 am

    >La Crema is one of my luxury buys – at $15.99 on sale, I only get it for special occasions! I'll try the FC though….

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

