Skip to content

>Worth Repeating 3

November 23, 2009

>

I love to read, and I love to share what I read, and I love to repeat what I read. Here’s what’s rattling around in my head today:

Gentle Reader,
This seemed appropriate for the start of a new week.
L.M. Alcott is on my nightstand this week. My last trip to the library was a total bust. Two I chose by their dust jackets alone, and, well, that was stupid (but who can blame me? it’s how I pick wine, too, and it’s equally effective there). One was full of f-bombs and the other bored me senseless so that I could not even tell you it’s title. The third, a world-renowned classic called Love in the Time of Cholera (ever see the film Serendipity?) was returned after discovering that the author used an entire paragraph to describe the “fragrant” smell of urine after asparagus.

I’m done! Thanks so much.

As such, we were forced to scrounge our own bookshelves. I re-read the life and times of Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy about once a year, usually at the holidays, and find it edifying and enlightening every time. And, every time, I cry buckets of tears over little Bethy.

“Then let me advise you to take up your little burdens again, for though they seem heavy at times, they are good for us and lighten as we learn to carry them. Work is wholesome, and there is plenty for everyone; it keeps us from ennui and mischief, is good for health and spirits, and gives us a sense of power and independence better than money or fashion.”

Lest you mock me for including “Children’s Literature” among my quotable quotes…with words like ennui and blunderbuss, perplexity, irascible and despondent, LMA writes in a style likely more advanced than most modern adult authors. Her characters don’t get into trouble, they get into scrapes. They don’t complain, they are cross, and fret, and croak.
I bid you, pick up whatever is on YOUR nightstand and prove to me that they have a more sophisticated vocabulary than ‘ole Louisa May. So there.
Your most devoted servant,
Adelle
You might also like:
Worth Repeating 2: Light From Heaven
Worth Repeating 1: Tears of the Girraffe
No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

