Skip to content

Joy in a Box, II, or, The Best Things In Life ARE Free

November 30, 2009

> I LOVE this season.

I love it. I love everything about it.

By the end of the weekend I had three out of four trees decorated – the big ‘un yet to come. We spent Sunday as a family outside, tidying up the mess and putting up lights on the house. Thanksgiving was only three days ago and we were the third house on our street to finish. Talk about peer pressure!

After dinner, we donned light sweatshirts (it’s freakishly warm) and the boys and I trucked down to one of our favoritest, coolest, most awesome seasonal treat. And it’s totally free.

We have a neighborhood train.

A kind soul just a few streets away spends well over a week turning his entire front lawn into a huge electric train display. At least 30′ wide, there are now four oval tracks, surrounded by darling little dioramas of small-town life and the North Pole.

Every year it’s bigger and better and has more cool stuff. This year’s new addition is a drive-in movie theatre complete with cute little vintage cars and a real projection screen playing real Christmas movies.

We are rarely the only family lined up at the fence. Three or four other jammied bodies are usually there, standing mouths agape, eyes abright, giggling and pointing and squealing at wee little cars, and wee little houses and wee little trees.

We turn home and as the boys chugga chugga home through piles of leaves and moonlight, I think to myself how much nicer this is than just being parked on the couch after dinner, AGAIN. I can’t wait to see who’s got their lights up in our neighborhood tomorrow night.

Did I mention that I love Christmas?

I do. I really, really do.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2009 8:03 am

    >i love your holiday lights! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. In Search of Peace and Joy « Adelle Gabrielson

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

