Skip to content

>Confession

December 4, 2009

>

I have a confession to make.

I have just come to the realization that I am…

but wait, I’m getting ahead of myself.

Back story:
For years, my dh has been baffled and bewildered by my extraordinary capacity to be both happy and sad at the same time. I can be ecstatic one moment, and despondent the next, which drives the poor man nuts.

Helter skelter, I gallop from one extreme to the other. That takes talent.

As such, I have come to the aforementioned conclusion that I really am, undeniably, and unequivocably,

*gulp*

a drama queen.

There. I said it.

I admit it.

My darling, spirited neice comes by her fractious nature honestly.
She inheirited it from Auntie ‘Delle.

My two year old, who can go from giggle to shriek of rage and back again in the same breath, can hardly be blamed. My six year old also bears a flair for the dramatic. I see it all so clearly now.

Frankly, my brother has been telling me this for years and I didn’t believe him. I mean, he IS my brother. It’s his job to insult me.

My husband has been living with this for nearly 12 years. Poor man! and a far simpler creature, he parks on his emotions and lets ’em set awhile. Happy. Sad. Hungry. That pretty much covers it.

But, oh me, like Miss Piggy, I have moods that span every color of the spectrum and I enjoy them in every tint and hue. A lesser man would have fled in terror long ago.

At least I see my failures now. While I’m not proud to bear this label, it’s a label I must bear. I will try NOT to demonstrate my unique talents and capabilities to my friends and family on a regular basis, but if you, at any time, experience a shift in the emotional weather that makes your head spin, I apologize in advance.

(I told my dh of my epiphany as I wrote this.
He smiled and then whispered:

“It’s ok honey. I’ll still keep you.”)

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 4, 2009 7:07 pm

    >First of all, love Gabe for the ending comment! But I can't say I agree that you're a drama queen. I think the definition of drama queen is to be so addicted to attention that you seek drama when it's not there, or create drama just for the sake of drama. Having a wide range of emotions that you wear on your sleeve is not exactly making drama where there is none. You, my dear, are no junior high teenager!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

