Skip to content

The best gift of Christmas…

December 14, 2009

Our church is spending the month of December on the Advent Conspiracy – a worldwide effort to

Worship Fully.
Spend Less.
Give More.
Love all…
This vidoe does a good job of explaining it…
The bottom line there is…”consumerism” is rapidly replacing Jesus as the true purpose for Christmas. And we’re not gonna take it anymore.
It’s not about giving Santa the boot – but it is about redirecting just a bit of what we would have spent on something useless and putting it towards something more meaningful. Why buy someone something just to buy them something that they probably don’t need? Yes, it’s the thought that counts…get it…it’s the THOUGHT that counts.
And so, I’m giving a shout out to two lovely people who – IMHO – have just done a smashing job of giving – the right way – at Christmas.
I was given (blessed with) a lovely covered cassrole full of marvelous, homemade goodness. I’m gobsmacked. I wasn’t just given a super-yummy dinner, I was given the time to enjoy it with my family. Sometime during the next two weeks, when things are crazy and schedules are busy and we’re racing home from work in order to make it to yet another children’s performance of some sort (We have FIVE this year. Two kids, five performances. How do bigger families DO this?) we will get to actually get to skip the mac ‘n cheese or chicken nuggets and enjoy a home-cooked meal.
If that’s not a gift (and dish) chock full ‘o love, I don’t know what is.
And I even get to keep the dish!
Maybe if I refill it and pass it on, this would be one instance in which re-gifting wouldn’t be tacky…
No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

