Skip to content

>Worth Repeating 5

December 15, 2009

>

This needs to be one of my New Year’s resolutions. Find the time – find it somewhere, somehow – and write, every day. I just sent off my very first article in the hopes of publication. Knowing how hard this business is, I doubt anything will come of it YET, but I will keep trying.

“Don’t wait for the muse. As I’ve said, he’s a hard-headed guy who’s not susceptible to a lot of creative flattering. This isn’t the ouija board or the spirit world we’re talking about here, but just another job like laying pipe or driving long-haul trucks. Your job is to make sure the muse knows where you’re going to be every day, from 9 till noon or seven till three. If he does know, I assure you that sooner or later, he’ll start showing up, chomping his cigar and making his magic.”
Stephen King
On Writing
A Memoir of the Craft

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

