Skip to content

My I’m-Not-Waiting-Anymore List

December 22, 2009

>

Long-term, short-term and mid-term: taking a cue from many other bloggers, I am, hereby, starting a list of things I’d like to accomplish, see, or simply experience in this lifetime.

As a list person, the best thing about a list is crossing something off, and I have been known in times of great duress to write down things I’ve already done in order to immediately experience the satisfaction of a red line. And thus, I did it here, too. Give a girl a break. Otherwise it’s depressingly insurmountable.

Complete a novel.
Publish. Something. Anything.
Get Gabe to Europe.
Be a redhead.
Cross the Panama Canal.
Run a 5k.
Run a 10k.
Run. Period.
Drive a convertible (again)
Paris in the Spring.
Ogle glaciers in Alaska (twice!)
Get a professional family portrait taken.
Learn to ballroom dance.
Finish a craft project. Just one. Any one.
Finish the backyard remodel.
Have baseboards.
Have drinks with Susan Wagner.
Take the boys to Hawaii
Use my china at least once a month.
Light candles. Often.
Ride (horseback) in Hyde Park.
Paint something worth hanging on a wall.
Finish Penny before the cows come home.
Always make piecrust from scratch.
Create a backyard you want to take pictures of.
Remodel the kitchen into something open and gorgeous.
Enlarge the master bedroom into something open and gorgeous.
Kiss the Blarney Stone (it didn’t help. I must be already as full of blarney as you can get.)
Wear more dresses like Dianne.
Search for seashells in the Bahamas.
Ski Breckenridge (again, with Gabe).
Make weekend family hikes a tradition.
Learn to use Twitter.
Blog daily.
Own a boutique.
Teach the boys to ski.
Visit the Musee D’Orsay
Lounge on a beach in Provence.
Drink chianti in a sidewalk cafe in Italy.
Amalfi.
Sip a vouvray on a balcony overlooking le vallee de la Loire.
Stand in the shadow of the Parthenon.
Memorize more scripture.
Worry less.
Laugh so hard my stomach hurts. More often.
Wake up to the sound of waves crashing under my window.
Write a children’s book.
Take Scoob to Africa when he turns 12 and show him just how priveleged he really is.
Do the same for Scrappy.
Bake cakes the old-fashioned way (from scratch!). Often.
Learn to use WordPress.
Become reknowned for my (insert name of one or two homemade somethingorothers)
Turn up the music

“Oh wherever you are and wherever you’ve been, now is the time to begin.”

That’s all for now.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 6:46 pm

    >I love your list! I'm with you on making a list even to cross off things you've already done. Love it! I want to make my own now. I'm so glad you like the song, I thought you would!

  2. December 23, 2009 2:32 pm

    >Have to agree. I am a list maker. I have been known to do something not on my list, then add it to the list and cross it off just to give myslef credit for one more item done. Hmmm… That may be a sign of else.

  3. December 23, 2009 3:46 pm

    >Great list Adelle! Today is the time to live! It kills me when people wait to do the things they want to do. My mil has always wanted to go to Europe but waited until all the parents etc had died. Now she is 79 and has bad knees, can't get around, and will never get to do the one thing she has always really wanted to do!

  4. December 23, 2009 3:46 pm

    >I made the list!!! Yeah!!! you are livin' your life Adelle! I'd love to join you for Paris in the spring, the Musee D'Orsay…oh and ballroom dancing. You go woman!!! ready….go…get set!!!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

