Skip to content

Opinionated.

January 1, 2010

I’ve always maintained that if you ask me for an opinion, you better mean it because you are guaranteed to get one.
Realizing, however, that you haven’t asked me for my opinion, (but this is my blog and I can say whatever I want to. And you’re reading it, so clearly you must be at least slightly interested) my excuse is that it’s just a season for list-making.
I believe…

… that ecards are nice, phone calls are better, but a hand-written note is forever.

… that great fiction can be written without the use of the f-word.

… that celebrity infidelity is a canker on our society.

…that monogamy is feasible, reasonable and fabulous.

…that baking cookies from scratch really doesn’t take that long, and store-bought just doesn’t compare.

…that it does NOT have to be new to be in style.

…that sugar and fat substitutes are just not worth it.

…that cloth napkins are.
…that thank-you notes are still necessary and proper.

…that discipline is an expression of my love for my children and my hope for their future.

…that everything is possible with God, and nothing is possible without Him.

…that family dinner is important, but so is the occasional (ok, weekly) pizza-and-a-TV-movie.

…that using a cake mix is still ok (thanks Patty!)

…that getting your hands into the dirt is bad for the manicure, but good for the soul.

…that having the door held open for me does not make me inferior, but quite the opposite.
…that speaking French to your flowers makes them bloom more. (Or maybe it’s just fun.)
…that wide-open spaces will calm the savage beast, every time (the one within, and the ones running around in capes trying to kill each other in my house.)
and…
…that presence really is better than presents.

Happy New Year, friends! Thank you for reading!

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

