Skip to content

They say the brain remembers smells best…

January 6, 2010

And, I would have to agree.

There are few things more raunchy than a six-year-old boy’s hands.

One of them is a six-year-old boy’s hand that’s been in a cast for six weeks.

G.R.I.M.Y.

That cast didn’t come off a day too soon. The stench was wafting across our Christmas table last week. And, when they cracked that sucker open yesterday it cleared the room. (Ok, it was just me and the tech in the room, but I wanted to run away. Really, I did.)

The shriveled, scaly little stick that came out of it weren’t too pretty, neither.

We are so, so, so, so, so (SO) happy to be back to unattended showers, self-administered hand-washing (both of them!), and eating with a fork instead of fingers.

All in all, I call that a good day.

Let’s not go through this again, pretty please. Once was enough.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 4:46 am

    >Your description almost made me gag, haha! I'm glad the little guy is out of the cast.

  2. January 6, 2010 7:56 pm

    >I can top that-we had to make an 800 mile car trip with Jay, also age 6, when he was in the last week of his cast. It was August. He was most comfortable riding in front of the vent from the air conditioner which seemed to send the stream of air right through the cast, circulating the dregs of stench from the whole, hot, humid summer he had to wear that thing throughout the car. You are right. The brain never forgets and it can remind the nose with the slightest of cues. Your entry is one of those cues! As far as your statement, "Let's not go through this again" is concerned, let me just warn you to intervene if the boys begin playing "human cannonball" and encourage you not to buy them a two wheel scooter if you move to a street that has an incline. We had two more trips to the emergency room with those circumstances. Maybe your luck with two boys will be better than mine with three….!

  3. January 6, 2010 9:22 pm

    >Ugh. I know that smell. It makes me think of "recess kid". There is no stench like recess kid. Or 7th graders who haven't figured out that everyone needs to bath often yet. With soap. Especially after sweating in a football uniform…

  4. January 7, 2010 11:16 pm

    >I had a friend who would rub a ruler into his cast to scratch it – BARF!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

