Skip to content

Don’t rush me (ok, go ahead)

January 10, 2010

I’m trying so hard to live in the moment, not longing for what’s next. Concentrating and appreciating the now.

But THE FIGHTING!

The SCREAMING!

The TANTRUMS!

Will they ever get along?

Today Scooby decided to stick his head between his mattresses, and Scrappy climbed on top and started jumping up and down. I don’t think he was intentionally trying to decapitate his brother, it just seemed like fun at the time.

I can’t help but wonder (dream) if it will always be this way, in one form or another, or if, someday, they will actually get along. Oh, but for a brief instant that they might actually build ships at the LEGO table together instead of one building, and the other destroying! Can I look forward to that without violating my own words?

Or am I just naiive in thinking that peace will ever reign in this household again?

The first baby tooth is about to come out, marking, at least for me, a huge milestone. I do confess that in addition to feeling all nostalgic about the loss of babyhood, I am also worrying about not getting blood on the (stupid) white carpet.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 3:45 pm

    >This is more or less life – but there will be many moments later when they play together and though it will be oh so short it will be oh so precious. Anna occassionally reads to Thomas and they do build separately with legos. sort of.

  2. January 11, 2010 8:59 pm

    >I had the same dilemma my whole life – it finally came to me when I was OBSESSIVELY worried about getting a scratch on my shiny new black car. Bottomline: Let your life dictate the state of the carpet, don't let the state of the carpet dictate how you live your life.

  3. January 11, 2010 9:15 pm

    >Well said!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

