Skip to content

>The $20 Date

January 23, 2010

> Our lives have been so hectic the past few weeks what with G working weekends, and meetings, and home group and Men’s Fraternity and blah blah blah, that I’m beginning to wonder who it is leaving socks on the floor in front of the hamper, ’cause I never see him.

The weather is too nasty, and it’s just too much effort (and money) to call a sitter, so tonight we’re gonna try something new – Date Night a Casa.

I spent my lunch break yesterday at Trader Joe’s (big mistake, that – they put crack in those little samples they hand out at noon). While it was more expensive than cooking, it was far less than we would have spent going out (even Tandoori Oven). I’m trying an actual eye-tall-ee-an wine (Chianti) and a ready-made lasagna for two, heat and serve bread and a baby spinach-bleu cheese-walnut salad. We’ll eat in the dining room (on CHINA! Yes we will!) light some candles, TALK for once, and then after we’ll go see a movie (or just Castle and catch up on AI) in the family room.

It’s going to be splendid. I can’t wait.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2010 3:41 am

    >Holla at your free babysitter! And, ps, I'm going to need something to fill up my evenings – be it baby sitting or girl time – now that I'm becoming a tax widow again!

  2. January 25, 2010 1:49 am

    >Creativity is the key to a great marriage! We have prioritized date nights our entire marriage – in fact, going on one tonight! Yipee!Great post!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

