Skip to content

>January…like a breath of fresh air

January 28, 2010

>We’ve already established how much I love Christmas and the glitter and the flannel and the oh-so-cute little snowmen

But after 6 weeks of all that, it’s always a huge relief for me to see that last box go back into the attic. I look around my dining room – always the most affected (effected?) – and see nothing but bare surfaces, open walls, and endless possibilities (we’ll talk about that in another post).

For me, January has always been a time to let go. A going through. Deciding what to keep, what to donate, what to throw.

Clutter is not your friend. In fact, it’s pretty much your enemy. Here’s what Tanna has to say at Complete Organizing Solutions (additional links to her stuff below):

Stuff ~ Stuff without a home is clutter. For example, you have 10 different medications/vitamins sitting out on the counter; some are in use and some are not. You are always shuffling them around and you just can’t help but feel like
there could be a better way of dealing with them.


Thoughts ~ Thoughts of inadequacy or discontent is clutter of the mind. For example, you love sales and shop all the time because you are discontent with the clothing you already own and feel inadequate when you wear certain things. You keep telling yourself to keep buying the latest and greatest because it will make you feel better.

Here’s my personal top tips for breathing easy (and controlling clutter) in the
new year:

1. I’ve long abided by FlyLady’s principal: If you haven’t used it in a year, and it doesn’t make you smile – let it go. It’s worth noting that FL has a GREAT step-by-step method for conquering the chaos in your home. It’s free, she’ll even tweet you throughout the day to help keep you motivated. I’ve done it for so long it’s second nature and as a result, my house never gets completely out of control like it once did.

2. Wear your closet. Thank you once again to Susan Wagner. She also photographs what she wears every day. Pretty soon you’ll figure out what you REALLY like (and want to keep) versus what you don’t.

3. Everything wants to have a home. Find one. All those little toys, doo-dads, knick-knacks and papers are not truly happy on your living room floor and dining room table. If you can’t find a home for it, perhaps it’s time to let go. If you need help, there’s people out there that do this professionally at minimal cost.

4. Find some good websites on decorating, organization and fashion and visit them often. Figure out what flatters you and slavishly devote yourself to that, not to each new treand. Case in point – I will NEVER be seen in skinny jeans. They were not designed for women with hips. I have hips. Therefore, while trendy and all the rage, I will never wear skinny jeans. Period. (I’m all about a good mid-rise boot cut. But we’ll talk about that in another post.)

(Note: ironically, not two hours after I wrote the paragraph above, Susan Wagner apparently heard my negative thoughts and set out to prove me wrong. You decide!)

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to get back to the pile ‘o clutter that is exiting my home Saturday morning for the swap meet. We’ve said our goodbyes and we’re all looking forward to moving on.

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

