Skip to content

Say “Yes” more…

January 30, 2010

I find, as a parent, that the most frequent word out of my mouth is “no.”
No, you may not have cookies for dinner.
No, you may not watch Braveheart, even though the cover of the DVD looks very interesting.
No, you may not put maple syrup on your spaghetti (after watching Elf)
No, you may not go swimming in that fountain (or puddle, or rain gutter, etc.)
No, you may not sail your boats in the toilet.
No, you may not put a leash around your brother’s neck and ride him like a pony.
If I were listening to me, I’d get pretty sick of the word “no.”
My goal for this week is to say yes as often as possible.
So, it just may be that we hear:
Yes, you may put peanut butter on your broccoli.
Yes, it would be totally cool if Papa’s pool were filled with chocolate milk.
Yes, you may wear a tie with your polo shirt.
Yes, you may sleep on the floor under a tent.
Yes, you may help me make (X) even though it will take four times longer and I will have to clean the entire kitchen afterwards.
Yes, you may dip your pizza in chocolate sauce…just this once.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2010 12:56 am

    >As a bonus, I've noticed that I'm a lot happier when I say "yes" more often. Life is too short, and "no" can be so exhausting…

  2. July 10, 2012 7:35 pm

    Yes, you may walk backwards everywhere we go today, even though it’ll take me 15 times longer to do everything.
    Yes, you may have a tea party with all 1500 stuffed animals in the living with real milk and cookies on my new rug.
    (just had to add some, too!)

Trackbacks

  1. Saying Yes: My Lesson in Poached Eggs « Adelle Gabrielson

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

