Skip to content

>Gratitude Monday

February 2, 2010

>
Mondays, while a return to my coveted routine, still seem to bring a bit of the blahs. I’d much rather be sleeping in than schlepping backpacks and diaper bags; I’m pretty sure the kids would rather be hanging out watching cartoons that be shuffled out the door by 7:20am sharp. In the cold. And rain. And gloom.

You get the picture.

I’m going to do my best to counteract – and contradict – those blahs with a little self-medicating thankfulness.

Here’s what I’m thankful for today:

  • That, for only the second time in his life, Scrappy has an ear infection which means a day at home, and a cuddly baby who’s going to take a four hour nap. I call that a win/win.
  • It’s a weekday and we’re going to get to eat something that came out of the oven instead of the microwave. We might even do it in the dining room! With candles!
  • The sun is still shining (three days STRAIGHT!) and during the four hour nap I’m going to prune some of my roses.
  • That I did NOT win the Pioneer Woman Saturday Night Smartypants quiz, because, really I am totally opposed to the idea of a Kindle. Call me a Luddite. I like my books.
  • That it’s only February 1st and my daffodils are already up, and the Lily of the Valley are blooming

Update: I wrote the above this morning. Now I can add that I’m thankful that my boy only has a mild ear infection that doesn’t need medicating, and he’s feeling so good that he is, at this moment, galloping around the house wearing nothing but a t-shirt and a belt, shouting “neigh! neigh!”

Four-hour nap? Yeah, right!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 5:38 am

    >No way, I am so jealous. Your daffodils are up! ! !I have a sick kid here too.Happy February!

  2. February 3, 2010 7:15 pm

    >Now, that right there, is hilarious. This blog is a delight 🙂

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

