Skip to content

>10 Reasons to Stop Lurking and Start Commenting!

February 4, 2010

>

Lurking: To frequently visit, read, or follow blogs, newsgroups and forums, but without making your presence known.

  1. I would love to hear what you have to say! One of the biggest reasons I started this blog was to get feedback – do you agree or disagree? Do you find yourself in the same situations, or different ones? Tell me!
  2. Comments beget comments. When you comment, others will read your comments and respond and voila! a discussion begins, be it on parenting or the fit of your pants.
  3. Otherwise, I’ll never know you’ve stopped by. Please, let me know you’ve been here! Leave a comment!
  4. It makes writing more fun, and it gives me more stuff to write about.
  5. It’s good publicity for YOU. Do you write as well? Leave a comment and your URL. Others will see it and that’s what we call viral marketing, baby.
  6. I would love to hear what you have to say!
  7. I would love to hear what you have to say!
  8. I would love to hear what you have to say!
  9. I would love to hear what you have to say!
  10. I would love to hear what you have to say!

    Pretty please? Sugar on top? But no cherries. Don’t like cherries.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 12:47 pm

    >Nancy and I love your blog. We eagerly anticipate it and laugh and cry. We lvoe the pictures of the cutest boys in the world and the adventures that you share.

  2. February 4, 2010 2:38 pm

    >Love you Adelle! I love reading your blog every morning and keeping up with you that way! I bonded with you at 2 weeks old when I started baby sitting you. Now I wonder, were they crazy to leave a 2 week old and son with an 11 year old? I was responsible yes, or are we VERY neurotic these days???? Sending hugs and blessings!!!

  3. February 4, 2010 5:30 pm

    >…but I've seen that Mary Englebrit poster in your house that says "life is just a bowl of cherries" or "chair of bowlies" or something…Anyhow! I've found myself similarly dismayed by lack of commentary, especially when I do manage to post and I can see the number of people who have stopped by…but no comments. At least you post often enough that people can count on new content and will stop by regularly, unlike the blue moon that is my blog! Since my blog is a bit of a soapbox, while yours is a beautiful confection of when fun meets real life, I've made peace with the idea that very few people other than my husband will actually sit through my rants, so I don't expect too many comments. But I hope you get your heart's desire of lots and lots of comment-ey love, because you've worked hard to get ready, GO! get set, and you deserve it, darnit!

  4. February 4, 2010 5:30 pm

    >I'm new the the whole reading blogs thing but you have had some good things to share. I usually go for the short and sweet ones and my time is so limited. But there have been some great nuggets and I have been personally inspired for myself and my kids.

  5. February 4, 2010 6:13 pm

    >Ok, ok, you caught me! I read the blog about Mikey being a biter and didn't comment, but that's the only one – I promise!I'm sorry. There, I said it, I'm sorry Adelle's blog!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (and I mean it)I will comment on all I read. From one bloggette to another – that is a promise 🙂

  6. February 4, 2010 7:03 pm

    >Okay, so now I am officially FOLLOWING you…now isn't that better than just leaving a comment??!!Seriously, though, I admire you for doing the blogging thing…wish I had it in me to do. But who knows…maybe someday I will!!

  7. February 4, 2010 11:42 pm

    >I'm so guilty, but with good reason. I haven't changed the ridiculous follower picture that Brad, so graciously, posted for me. It's not that I'm embarrassed of my husband's ripped body, but I don't want anyone to see it, link my name to the picture, and then set an unrealistic standard for their own husband's physique. It's a dilemma, but from now on, I'll throw caution to the wind and post comments with pride.

  8. February 5, 2010 7:07 am

    >More power to ya woman!!! Especially for just laying it out there. No more excuses! Love ya!

  9. February 6, 2010 12:03 am

    >Ok… not exactly a comment – but this ties in with your post today (and your comment about friends on twitter) This is from my blog…On Blogging and other things… I've reached a happy conclusion about blogging. AND I think I am going to be comfortable with for a while… You see, I've been troubled by the "social media" critics who have raised the flag that the collective "we" are becoming disconnected from human social interaction in favor of Facebook, Blogging, Tweeting, (twits…), etc. As an original member of Friendster, I embraced the early "social media" and then suddenly I became uncool. Facebook popped up and I retreated. Twitter tweeted and I thought "What? I don't care what you are doing every two minutes of your day, surely you have too much time on your hands". So I started to buy in to the argument that the Social Media outlets were replacing actual honest to goodness friendships. And I resisted… all the while, my friends moved to far away lands, my family became more spread out, my brothers started to really focus on their practices, THEY had children, I had children, my work started to REALLY heat up… and well, one fine Sunday, I was sitting in a room filled with young parents and I was just sitting there. It hit me – when I was a singleton (nod to Bridgette Jones) – I would have known all of them. Most would have been my dear friends, and I would have known how their week was, what they were up to or the latest movie they saw… for that matter, I would have at LEAST known their full name. But nope. Not lately. Not even remotely able to spend a minute to find out. Then my friend (whom I saw all the time when I was a singleton and now I barely can keep track of her hairstyles) started blogging. She sent out an email that read "I need my friends." She wanted to make a go of this blogging thing to the WHOLE public. I found myself checking in on her blog once in a while, but it caught me… I started checking it almost daily. I loved that it let me know (in my ever so short times when I was eating lunch at my desk and therefore unable to catch up with her) what she was upto… so that when I DID see her in person, it was as though we had seen each other every day.So this was my epiphany… blogging for me isn't replacing human contact. If it weren't for blogging, I wouldn't otherwise have any human interaction ANYWAY. Blogging is a way for all of my friends and family to keep in touch by eeking out some modicum of time at some convenient point in their day and check in on me… and I can do the same. It is a way of matching up our "check in's" without having to match up… this way, when we do have our normally scheduled fun date, we already know what we want to talk about!!I am not ready for friends who I don't actually know already – so my blog is staying "Invite Only" for now… Now… what to call this new method of checking in with your friends… A Blog-by (instead of a "drive-by")… a Bloggin-In (instead of checking in).. a Blogdate? a Friendger? Blog-Time (instead of Tea Time) I don't know… I'll leave that up to my more creative friends (who are both real and in the blogsphere)

  10. February 6, 2010 1:23 am

    >Oh my gosh… I am so sorry that was so long.

  11. February 6, 2010 7:06 pm

    >OK, I admit it, I read and don't comment most of the time. But I do LOVE to read your blog! Your "life" as a working woman, wife and Mother of two (or is it three?!) very …busy?…onery?…mischevious?…precious boys makes me smile and laugh! One of the highlights of my day. Keep blogging my great- with- words friend. sharon

  12. February 8, 2010 1:02 am

    >I'm just now catching up after a long week, but I read every post and comment when I feel I have something to contribute. I'll start commenting just for the heck of it to say I'm reading even if I have nothing profound to add.

  13. February 11, 2010 12:47 am

    >Guilty as charged. I follow your blog entries and relish my connection to you, if only by the wonderful word pictures that you present with every posting. Because geography keeps us from face-to-face smiles, tears, tea-time and giggles, I remain your ever faithful reader and friend. Your daily musings are like carefully placed stitches in the fabric of your life. You weave beautiful patterns that make up the content of your character and what God has given as your particular challenges and blessings. You inspire me.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

