Skip to content

>An auspicious beginning…

February 5, 2010

>Forgot to put clothes in dryer, so planned shirt was still wet at 7:05am.
Running “Express Dry” only got it to damp, at which point I still put it on.
Lost track of time waiting for shirt to dry and left for 12 minute drive to school with only 10 minutes to spare before class began.
Thought I had till 8:30 to drop off booster seat and lunch for 1st grade field trip.
Field trip was leaving at 8:05.
Still circling parking lot at 8:05 trying to find parking place.
Was scolded by 1st grade teacher for being late.
Grabbed two year old to make the run into office to grab said lunch, only to find 2 year old had removed shoes.
Ran 100 yards with barefoot, coatless, 34 lb two year old on hip. In heels.
Flung two year old at first familiar face I found in order to make the final sprint.
Sprinted like a lunatic past the other calm, collected, and punctual parents.
Flung lunch box towards departing 1st grade class.
Stumbled, gasping, to retrieve abandoned, crying, coatless, barefoot two year old.
Dropped off two year old in preschool. Replaced shoes.
Stumbled, gasping, into office.
And my shirt is still damp.

P.S. Finding it ironic that the shirt I was so set on wearing today reads: “Well behaved women rarely make history.”

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2010 5:26 pm

    >Ooooh, sorry! It sounds like it's that kind of a Friday everywhere, though!

  2. February 5, 2010 6:07 pm

    >Nice. Definite thumbs-up to your exciting morning. And I use the word "exciting" because it was exciting to read.You only see that stuff in the movies! You just lived it! So, in your still-damp skirt, go ahead and give yourself a pat on the back 🙂

  3. February 6, 2010 2:54 pm

    >Great blog…great post! This reminds me of the "good ol' days"…hang in there mom…you are making the best memories for your family and yourself.Smiles ~ Ramona

  4. February 6, 2010 4:08 pm

    >Oh Adelle!!! What a morning!!! What reads as humor for us was horror to live through that early in the morning! I always felt that mornings needed to start later and I would have done so much better! I guess this is why God only gives us 18 years of this and hopefully but 7th or 8th grade they can handle a few things on their own. Don't get excited though. You have 2 boys and they notoriously don't think they need anything and don't help themselves at all!!!

  5. February 6, 2010 4:11 pm

    >This is the beginning of a great reality show!!!…a new twist on "Running in Heels!" and I'm sure the other "punctual" parents had some sort of magical fairy to help them out yesterday…. Last thought: barefoot Mikey. So cute.

  6. February 7, 2010 11:23 pm

    >I absolutely loved you sharing this story. When I saw you later in the day, I would never have known that your day started so crazy. I'm so glad I'm not the only one who has mornings like these. My kids had to go to school one day this week with damp socks for the same reason – I forgot to transfer the laundry.

  7. February 8, 2010 7:50 pm

    >Punctual parents will never know an adrenaline rush from such a morning as this. Their systems will be totally unprepared when their time comes….and it will. Such is parenthood. My day of such infamy was the first mothers' day tea at Buck's pre school. Time to go with baby Andy in tow only I couldn't find the keys. Shameless as well as desparate, I didn't even wait for a familiar face-but flagged down a passing car at the corner for a ride. Was safely delivered in spite of my daring hitch hike. Later the keys turned up in the toy box. No wonder your "Lucy" plays so well with my "Ethel"! Love you all, Patty

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

