Skip to content

>Friendship

February 6, 2010

> I’ve had a lot of friends, galpals and playmates over the years. Some of them go back as far as elementary school – like Deb, who was the first to inform me that there was no Santa Claus.

We were 5 (I didn’t listen).

We were separated when her parents moved, but reunited at a college mixer 13 years later (there was a lot of squealing and jumping up and down). We quickly re-friended and ended up roommates. She was in my wedding, and I in hers.

Then there are the college buds – those women you bond with over course work, boyfriends, breakups, and hair-brained adventures in the wilds of Europe (that you are only just now telling your parents about). They are the women you slogged along with as you discovered yourself, what you believed in, and with whom you started dreaming of what you wanted to be when you grew up. They gave you nicknames you’ll carry to your grave, and (unfortunately) have photos of you that, should you ever decide to run for office, could very well end your campaign.

Cari and I bonded over Austen and Bronte, and somehow through a million life changes and a thousand miles separating us, we remain kindred spirits. Months can go by, but the random text message or phone call pops in and we’re right back where we started, on my knobby, sheet-draped couch in Apartment C-31.

Aimee and I became friends the first week of freshman year. I was drawn to her like a bee to honey – her sunny nature and sense of humor made her one of the most truly popular people I’ve ever known. Our senior year was one of the best of my life, though for her it was quite possibly the most tulmultuous. We held each other as she cried over her mother’s recurring cancer, and we celebrated when Phil finally proposed. Fifteen minutes with Aim is like a year’s worth of nourishment to my soul. I just feel taller when I’m with her.
Renae came later. I’ve already waxed eloquent on her virtues here. We met right out of college, both finding our way in the working world and in relationships. She gave me a spine when I was ready to crumble. Her door was ALWAYS open to me (not to mention she fed me well), and I partied like a rock star at her East Meets Deep South wedding in Nashville. (Just a very conservative rock star.)

Since those days of growth and learning there have been countless others. Friends with whom to laugh with, and to cry. I have shopping buddies and friends who pray for me, friends that I call when I’m happy, and different ones I call when I need help. Friends to borrow clothes from, and friends who will babysit my kids. Friends to jam with over books, over the perfect jeans, and over how many different pairs of wedge heels a woman can actually wear in one season.

I’m thankful for all of them. Friends come and go. They move in, they move along. But we can’t get along without them, can we? And if we are so lucky, so exceedingly blessed, they stick around regardless of geography, and distance makes no difference. A true friend – a kindred spirit – is more than just proximity.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2010 1:24 am

    >Good blog. Makes me wish I had made time for those kinds of friends while I went through life.

  2. February 7, 2010 2:27 am

    >You will always be one of my dearest and favorites, Marianne. I sat by Aimee in church a few weeks ago; being with her always makes me miss you. You are right about her- life is good around Aimee. We've decided, and bring up repeatedly, that a reunion is in order. I'm in. I love your blog, by the way, and I'm very grateful for you. Cari

  3. February 7, 2010 3:18 am

    >Adelle, the bible says a friend sticks closer than a brother, and well with my 2 older brothers as the test case, friends do stay closer and you my dear friend definitley do! I love reading your post…thank you for sharing your gift with all of us less blessed w/ the gift of writing!! you are an amazing lady and truest of friend!!

  4. February 7, 2010 9:15 pm

    >They say to have a good friend, one must be a good friend. Adelle, you have many beloved friends because you are a beloved friend. Keep sharing your gift as you remind us what is most important in life, and what is fun too! Much love your way. Hugs, Ang

  5. February 8, 2010 12:57 am

    >I'm thankful for your friendship! And I SO enjoy reading your blog.-Bethany

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

