Skip to content

>My funny Valentine

February 11, 2010

>How will you be celebrating Valentine’s Day this year?

I’m actually thinking ahead (for once) because tonight I will be taping 42 Dum-Dum’s to 42 valentines that will be handed out to 42 sticky children tomorrow in two, simultaneous Valentine’s Day parties that I am going to be, simultaneously, at. (Not quite sure how, yet. Need to borrow Hermione’s necklace, methinks.)

Not being of an especially crafty bent (have I said that before?) I’m not going to be doing any sort of homemade extravaganza, but I want the day to be sweet for my sweeties. Nothing too fancy, just enough to be special, that’s my goal.

I think another Date Night a Casa is in order – I have that Chicken Gorgonzola (crack) in the freezer from my last trip to TJ’s that is awaiting to be enjoyed. My big boy and I can have a nice, candlelit dinner and actually get to talk (that is, if we wait until the wee boys are abed). A bottle of wine, something fudgey for dessert. Yes. Perfect!

For the wee men, I think I’m going to take a page from a friend and cut out a bunch of red and pink construction paper hearts, fill them some love notes, and tape them all over their windows while they’re sleeping. At least one of them will be able to read them in the morning, and hopefully he’ll help his brother. I bought them each a heart-shaped container of M&M’s that perhaps I’ll hide somewhere for them to find. Pink oatmeal, pink milk and other pink breakfast treats will also be the order of the day.

I might even make everyone wear red and white to church and try to get a photo op. Won’t that be cute? (So jealous of all you moms with girl-babies who will be dolling them up in pink and lace and tulle on Sunday. NOT FAIR!)

How about you? Will you be dining on the town, enjoying a romantic getaway, or doing something simple at home? Are you boycotting altogether? Making homemade valentine’s with homemade paper and homemade yarn? Let’s have it…what’s your plan?
3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2010 4:40 am

    >We're a valentines-at-home kind of family too, but we're actually going out this year! We haven't had a dinner out in so long, we decided to go out on Saturday for a little Italian romance. Then we're doing V-day family style over at the Dawson's! Awesome weekend, to be sure. Hope you feel better!

  2. February 12, 2010 11:33 pm

    >We were going to Isabella's Taverna for tapas, paella… However, thanks to the back-to-back blizzards, downtown Frederick is not really and option tomorrow night. So we are postponing one week and I will cook in. I will make Chicken Enchiladas with Red Chili Sauce, since Lisa likes Mexican and I am testing out some cook books. Breakfast will be homemade Corned Beef Hash and Baked Grits with Cheese, two more of Lisa's favorites. The flowers that were to arrive today were not deliverable by FedEx because the Snow Emergency was not lifted until noon. And since today was our first day out of the cul-de-sac since Tuesday, I do not have a card yet. Usually, it is not quite this much of a train wreck. Hope that you are feeling better and are taking something for your headache.

  3. February 15, 2010 3:53 am

    >Inspiring ideas… good on a budget, too! So I followed your lead and tried to dress us all in Valentine's colors. (It's hard, too, because we're not really "pink" people… and relatedly, I find it's more expensive to raise a girl than a boy!) This morning, I gave the kids the Valentines I made for them at MOPS. [I'm going to save the pink milk and pink oatmeal idea away for another year, when Adrian is more tuned in to holidays.] Tonight I bought some steaks that Joel put on the grill, and I roasted potatoes in the oven to go with them. The exciting part was when the grill caught on fire, with an extremely huge fire consuming our steaks. A box of baking soda later, the fire was out, and our steaks were well-done. Maybe chocolate milkshakes are in order for dessert.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

