Skip to content

>Gratitude Monday

February 22, 2010

>

I am thankful that despite my well-laid plans for a productive day that included getting up early, getting to work early, writing, organizing, lunch with a friend, and knocking out two dentist appointments at the same time, that I have the flexibility and emotional elasticity to deal with a morning of tears and “I don’t want to go to school!” drama, hanging out in the preschool classroom cuddling Scrappy instead of arriving at work early, enjoying the flag salute and walking Scooby to class instead of writing, and a trip over to the pediatrician instead of dentist appointments b/c Scrappy’s lower lid is getting infected after Saturday’s tussle with the swing.
I’m also thankful that the injury wasn’t worse, and that I have a job that allows me to be nearby and not have to add commute time on to all our jaunting to and fro.
I’m thankful for the mental exercise of switching gears, changing priorities, and having all my best-laid plans sail away quietly into the clear blue sky.
I’m thankful for all that. I really am. I mean it. REALLY.
(If I keep saying it over and over maybe it will be true.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 5:05 pm

    >What a sad little guy! He sure knows how to turn on the 'feel sorry for me' face!

  2. February 22, 2010 5:26 pm

    >Sometimes being thankful is actually a choice rather than a feeling that comes naturally. Good reminder to choose what things to be thankful for!Poor little guy, that picture is a heartbreaker.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

