Skip to content

>It’s a good day. No, it’s a GREAT day.

February 24, 2010

>

(This post was written January 12, 2010 but kept as a draft so as not to jinx anything.)

I sold my first story today, to a local parenting magazine.

It’s not a big, national pub.

Just a local, free circulation rag that gets distributed to all local clinics, doctor’s offices, and schools. The pages are printed on newsprint. It’s not the New York Times.

But 70,000 copies are distributed all over Silicon Valley, and every one of those 70,000 copies is going to have my name, and my blog, in print.

And it’s my first.


I feel like I’ve just given birth. That’s one we’ll can take off the life list, today, and start working on doing it again.

And again.

And again.

And again.

I really thought it would take longer to cross this one off the list. I’ve only sent out three stories. One “no thanks”, one “we’ll see” and one glorious “sure, why not?” Waiting is agony – lead times are upwards of 12 weeks.

That I heard back on this one within a week is such a gift. SUCH a gift.

Thank you, thank you, thank you my personal cheering section, for helping me take this giant step forward.

I couldn’t have done it without you.

Pick up your own copy of the March issue of Bay Area Parent and read all about my vacation movie date with the boys and why you should NOT take a two year old to the movies. And please note, I did NOT come up with that title. The magazine did. A tad harsh.

p.s. At the doctor’s office this afternoon a woman with two small children stopped me in the hall. After conspicuously (and vainly) wrestling Scrappy into a sitting position in the waiting room, he was now frog jumping up and down the stairs while we waited for our prescriptions. Pointing to a copy of the magazine in her hand she asked: “Excuse me, but, is that him? Is that him in this magazine?”

I grinned.

Ridiculously big.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 6:08 am

    >Wooohooooo! Congratulations–what an accomplishment! Here's to many more!

  2. February 23, 2010 5:04 pm

    >WOW! Not only published, but publicly recognized for it! My goodness, Mama Gabe, you're a star! I'm smiling so hard for you right now my cheeks hurt! Oh, and we always get the latest issue of BAP for our lobby at the district office, so I'm totally going to go around my office bragging about how I know the author! Congratulations, I knew you could do it! I'm using a lot of exclamation points! But I can't help it! SOOOO happy for you!

  3. February 23, 2010 7:45 pm

    >Ahhhh!!!! I want to scream but that might not be appropriate in the office. I am SO proud of you and so excited for you! This is awesome, and these local parenting magazines are fabulous! And to be recognized in public? Amazing!! I'm so thrilled for you. I can't wait to read it! Save a bunch of copies for a future portfolio, or just bragging rights. Congratulations!

  4. February 24, 2010 12:49 am

    >Such an accomplished woman! I am so proud to say I know you! Congratulations !!! and may this be the first of many more brilliant, glorious and sunny insights from a modern mom with great shoes (and wonderful wonderful friend to boot!)

  5. February 24, 2010 1:00 am

    >I am so thrilled for you! Just a bit jealous, though. I am out of the area and cannot get my hands on a copy of "Bay Area Parent". Maybe you could scan and publish the article for us out-of-towners or better yet, is the magazine online?. It just makes me smile all over. You have a wonderful talent and it's high time that your insightful and often funny musings got out there for the masses to enjoy. I am raising my virtual glass. Here's to many more publications and hopefully your launch onto the national scene. Love you!

  6. February 26, 2010 10:13 am

    >So HAPPY with you!!! I am excited to see what God has in store for you…my talented sister! In reading your blog…sometimes even at 2AM (like now) I am amazed at how much talent and smarts are in the Stone gene…and now in my children too.

  7. February 27, 2010 7:52 pm

    >OK-I hope my copy is already in the mail! Wow! Amazing! I am so excited and happy to hear this news. You started this blog such a short time ago and already you are seeing little leaves of green shooting up from seeds you are planting. What harvest the Lord is going to give! Blessings, blessings, blessings on you, dear, dear one!

  8. March 1, 2010 4:25 pm

    >I just read your article and loved it. Congratulations!!!!!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

