Skip to content

>The Curse of the Longwaisted

February 24, 2010

>Everybody has their figure flaws, I get that.

Some people have long legs and short torsos.

Others have short legs and short torsos.

And then there’s me: short legs, LOOOOONG torso. (Not even going to start on the giraffe neck.)

Not just a little long, either. I once read that a “normal” person has a distance of about 2-3” from their lowest rib to the top of their hip. Most clothing manufacturers use fit models with these proportions, and as such, clothes are made to these proportions.
The distance from my lowest rib to my hip bone is a whopping six inches (I just made G measure it. He thinks I’m weird). Thus, when a shirt that is cut for a person with a “normal” torso hits above my navel, I now understand why.
This make shopping a challenge – I cannot wear lo-rise jeans – they just exacerbate the problem adding additional real-estate that I now have to cover.

Tunics are my friend, but the trick is to shorten my waist and lengthen my legs. Sometimes tunics do nothing more than accentuate what I’ve got and I end up looking like an oompaloompa (I rarely wear caprics without heels for this reason. Short, stubby legs, in short stubby pants = bad.)

90’s cropped tops were miserable. I love the longer-length that some retailers are selling generally right now – my stand by is Old Navy for tops – but I get frustrated that their $10 tanks just don’t hold up for more than six months. I don’t want to go spending $50 on a layering piece, either, but would love to find something more in the middle. Tanks are a must – they give me that extra length that most t-shirts and tops will never provide, and once again my navel remains (as it should) in seclusion. Finding mid-rise jeans is also a struggle without falling into the death-trap known as “The Mom Jean”…Old Navy’s are just frumpy on me, but one of these will be my next attempt…here’s hoping for success.

Gap, Perfect Boot mid-rise jeans. Dark wash, $69.50

Ann Taylor LOFT, Dark Wildflower Modern Bootcut, $59.50

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 5:49 pm

    >Hi Adelle and readers – you all might want to check out Land's End for some great options to this body challenge. They are offering many more choices on how tops and bottoms are cut. I really like the tee that is cut a little thinner but longer as well. And they hold up well to many washings. The jeans also have several rise, hip and length options. For me as a taller person, finding jeans long enough has always been my challenge. Land's End fit that bill for me. Good luck! Lynne Holland

  2. February 24, 2010 6:00 pm

    >Cool! Thanks for the tip!

  3. February 24, 2010 7:29 pm

    >All I have to say is: you always make it work. You command your fashion and have your own style! High-five to you!

  4. February 25, 2010 2:01 am

    >sexy! I am in the short legs, short torso. so straps keep falling down. I adjust them to their shortest.

  5. February 25, 2010 5:11 pm

    >with your neck and my legs, together we could be one rockin' giraffe on stage in a Lion King performance!

  6. March 3, 2010 5:50 pm

    >Amen to the long torso! I also spent most of the 90's looking like I'd been shopping in the teen shop of dept. stores. Old Navy and The Gap both let you order longer length so those are my standbys. I'm stocking up now because you know that fashion's crop tops are just around the corner!Great post!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

