Skip to content

I’m one. Are you?

March 8, 2010

I got a care package in the mail Saturday. In it, to my delight, was this awesome T by boymom designs. It’s black, and fitted (and LONG, woohoo!) and I love it, ’cause it’s what I AM!


The tag reads:

Girly girl marries
manly man
They begat two boys.

Now she’s a
boymom
Her pink tutu was traded
in for a green
light saber.

If you’ve got boys,
then you know.
You’re a boymom!

Yup.

That pretty much sums it up.

Thinking about it has brought to mind all the things that I say or do that I NEVER imagined when I was a little girl playing house with my Barbies. Things like:

“Sweetie, most cowboys sleep with their guns under their pillow, not in their pocket. It’s more comfortable.”

or

“No, we can’t bring the light saber into church. It has to stay in the car.”

or

“Yes, your drawing of the dragon drowning in oil and the electrocuted robot and the dungeon full of prisoners is totally cool!”

I also never imagined reaching into my purse and pulling out an array of matchbox cars, a plastic octopus, and a miniature surfboard. I didn’t expect to be admiring fantastic and amazing LEGO creations on a daily basis, or be asked (and expected to be able) to draw a basilisk, a Hungarian Horntail, or a castle under siege at a moment’s notice. I didn’t expect to live in daily fear of broken arms, black eyes, and bloody noses. Or have my daffodils run down by an escaping wagon. Or boys in my apple trees. I didn’t expect to have dinner-table discussions about bodily gasses and boogers, either.

boymom gets it. If you’re a mom of boys, then you know.

Are YOU a boymom?

(I don’t make this stuff up. Pretty much all of the above summarizes JUST ONE DAY in the life of a boymom. Really.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 6:26 pm

    >Once again, you nailed it. As the mother of two sons – no daughters and three grandsons – no granddaughters, I've lived your words, only I didn't have the very cool t-shirt and I certainly never got to "walk in your awesome shoes!!" I love love love boys. I think it's fun to be their first sweetheart 🙂

  2. March 8, 2010 11:28 pm

    >Okay, I gotta have one of those tees!!! Do they make one that says "manmom"?!!

  3. March 10, 2010 10:34 pm

    >Yes, I do love being a boymom/manmom,and I am enjoying watching you be being a boymom too. Thanks for writing about your days-it brings back great memories. Let me return the favor by giving you a glimpse of what you have to look forward to-one of your boys may be the stay at home parent while his wife goes off to work. He'll comment, "you just can't get anything done!" and you'll know he 'gets it'. Another one will tell you after the birth of his second girl that he is trading his light saber for tiaras and tutus, and you'll know he 'gets it' too! The shirt could read "joymom" so Enjoy, Mom! Love you!

  4. September 4, 2011 6:46 pm

    I, too, am a suddenly Boy Mom. (I actually have a daughter too, but she’s now away at school and so…Boy Mom. Loved your blog. Just started blogging myself, when my girlie girl left. I needed someplace to put all those unused words!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

