Skip to content

>You want me to be a what???!

March 11, 2010

>
G and I were talking about aptitude tests the other night

You know, those SAT-like tests they make you take in high school or junior college that are supposed to tell you what jobs you are best suited for.

The thing is, what 18 year old is going to take such a thing seriously?

G laughs now – his test told him he was best suited for military service or engineering. 20 years later, having done both, he realizes just how accurate the results were.

He asked me last night if I had ever taken one. I had, in high school. But I hadn’t thought about it in years. Probably since the day I got my test results and dismissed them promptly as any 16-year-old girl probably would.

It told me I was best suited to be a librarian.

I tossed out the results in disgust. I was way too cool to be a librarian.

Years later though, I realize it’s inescapable…

My happy place is creating order out of chaos…making file folders, ironing, and labeling my linen-closet shelves (oh yes, I have!). When I’m upset, I start reorganizing the kids’ shoes, or my kitchen cupboards, or the silverware drawer. G calls me his little Monica…

The Dewey Decimal system was made for chicks like me. In fact, I work off my Family Service Hours in the school library. Rows upon rows of beautiful organization. (I love making the spines all line up at the edge of the shelf…) My only complaint is that Dewey didn’t allow for height and color differences…if we could organize by topic, then by color or size of book (so they would look pretty, too) then it would be perfect. (My friend Catherine, the school librarian and ONE HIP CHICK, is laughing hysterically right now.)

And with my sporty new specs…now I even LOOK the part.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 6:36 am

    >That's a great pic, and I love the glasses! Very cool librarian, I say. Now all you need is this shirt: http://www.buyolympia.com/q/Item=readingispinkor this:http://www.buyolympia.com/q/Item=futurelibrarian_brown

  2. March 11, 2010 5:22 pm

    >I've been wanting to see a picture of the new glasses! They are so cute. The picture was hilarious – and I knew just from the headline and the pic that it was about being a librarian. 🙂 You forgot to mention that you're an avid reader and passionate about books – so I think it fits!

  3. March 11, 2010 9:19 pm

    >Hi Adelle! I just LOVE those glasses! You look very hip. Thanks so much for your email and kind words. I'm a new follower around these parts. Looking forward to checking out your posts!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

