Skip to content

>Worth Repeating: Fanny’s Dream

March 16, 2010

>
I spent my lunch hour on Friday in the library shelving books. I love it in there – on Friday’s it’s dark and quiet and I have the place to myself (which is good, because a lot of reshelving involves crawling around on my hands and knees peering at the spines on the bottom shelves, trying to find the right slot for Sitting Bull’s biography or The History of Domesticated Pets.

I got to play in the picture books this week, my favorite section. As I was putting away Snowmen at Christmas (one of my family’s favorites) I saw another title by the same author, Carolyn Buehner. This one was called Fanny’s Dream. I sat there on the floor, in the quiet library, and BAWLED MY EYES OUT. Such a sweet, truthful, lovely story.

I was planning to write my own review, but in doing a little googling, I found this delightful summary by 14 year old Joan, who’s mom Laura blogs at Lines…In Pleasant Places. Here is what she had to say:

I’m 14 years old, and I still like to read Fanny’s Dream.

Fanny is a farm girl who is dreaming of marrying a prince. Or at least the mayor’s son! So when word gets out that the mayor is throwing a ball, of course Fanny has to go. No one thinks she has a chance with the mayor’s son, even her own family.

But she’ll prove them wrong. All she needs to do is go outside and wait for her fairy godmother. Right? Wrong.

Fanny ends up waiting for hours and hours for her “fairy godmother” when she finally hears a voice. But that’s not her fairy godmother! It’s just Heber Jensen. Heber is a nice guy, and he’s always liked Fanny, but he was short! Fanny’s night wasn’t going at all like she had planned. Heber stays outside and talks with Fanny for awhile, but then, he proposes to Fanny!

It took her an hour to finally give up her dream, but she decides to marry him.

They marry. Heber is a good husband. He tries to make Fanny feel like a princess at least once a day. They have twin boys. They farm together. They have another baby, a girl. When the twins are 5, they accidentally burn the house down, and Fanny and Heber rebuild it.

One night Fanny goes outside to pick a melon and meets her fairy godmother, years too late. The fairy godmother gives her the opportunity to go to another ball, but what does she choose?

She chooses to go back inside to her husband and her children.

She realizes that her reality is better than her dream was.

Well said, Joan! And since that whole “life is what happens when you’re making other plans” thing is my personal motto, I felt this one was worth repeating.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 6:46 pm

    >Great story! It makes me think of "Up," which was one of my favorite movies this year. The idea that the life we are living is a greater adventure than all the traveling we may dream of really touched me. So sweet!

  2. March 17, 2010 1:47 am

    >Very sweet! I know I'd be bawling. I can't even get through the Velveteen Rabbit without choking up. Thanks for sharing!

  3. March 17, 2010 6:04 am

    >nothing better than the sound of a quiet library…

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

