Skip to content

>Worth Repeating: A Great and Terrible Beauty

March 22, 2010

>

I’ve been reading non-fiction far too long, it was time to dive into the shelf of goodies that is well-supplied from my blue-stocking friends. I grabbed this one last night and I’m already half-way through. A good sign.

Did ever a book have a beginning so downright delicious?

************

Chapter One

June 21, 1895
Bombay, India

*************

I just get shivers…

And here’s a great excerpt. You can just feel it, can’t you?

When she stands up to sing, a clear, sweet voice comes pouring out of her. It’s lovely, if somewhat timid. With practice, and a little more feeling. she could be quite good, actually. It’s a shame she won’t ever get the chance. She’s here to be trained to be of service. nothing more. When the music is over, she keeps her head down till she finds her seat again, and I wonder how many times each day she dies a little.

“You have quite a nice voice.” I whisper to here when she takes her
seat.

“You’re just saying that to be kind,” she says, biting a fingernail.

But a blush works its way into her full, ruddy cheeks, and I know that it means everything to her to sing her song, if just for a little while.

It will have to be Gratitude Tuesday this week – lots of great pics from the weekend, but I have a full glass of wine waiting for me and I’m going to leave the camera till tomorrow.

A Great and Terrible Beauty
by Libba Bray
One Comment leave one →
  1. March 23, 2010 12:49 am

    >From time to time I remember all over again how kindred are we. I LOVED that book! I intend to go read it again. I'm curious how you felt about the end… You are truly inspiring me friend. Cari

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

