Skip to content

>Happy Easter and Gratitude Monday

April 5, 2010

>

Taking it slow this weekend – y’all have too many better things to do than read my blog over a holiday, anyway! It’s spring break for us this week, too, so we’re going to keep it pretty low key and give Mama Gabe a break. I’ll try to keep things interesting, at least.

Last Easter, we were all in short sleeves, the boys in matching white sweaters, and it all took place in the front yard to avoid the mud. This year, we were shivering the entire time, hoping the rain wouldn’t start until after the Easter bunny came, and the boys were in dress pants, t-shirts and house-slippers. But we were in the BACK yard, among green and growing things, and my Japanese maple is the bomb.

I’m gratful for a day when “empty” is a good thing, for new beginnings, and grace that covers so many of my failings.

I’m grateful for the friends who joined us at our table, laden with wonderful things in bright and spring-y colors. like fresh-squeezed mandarin oj and soda, lamb (oh, the lamb), salad (goat cheese YAY!), parsley and lemon carrots, asparagus with thyme, and a potato salad I made up out of my own wee noggin. (Desperation breeds imagination – I lost the recipe I thought I had so I made one up: sauteed shallots, celery, bacon, sour cream, baby reds and lots and lots of parsley. It was YUM.)

I’m grateful that for the darling, manly suits that Nana bought. (Even though Scrappy cried when we made him wear a tie. At first.)

I’m grateful that my globe-trotting parents will be moving back to the states in just six days.

I’m grateful for no homework for a week (and so is Scooby).

I’m grateful for the little boys who are trying desperately, at this very moment, to get my attention. One of them is using half of a miniature yo-yo to “fish” over the back of my computer screen. I’m writing around a little red disk hanging down my screen while a cute face with dimples peers over the edge at me.

Time to sign off.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 5:08 pm

    >Thanks for the pictures! Sorry I missed seeing you guys in person at church. Happy Easter and enjoy Spring break!

  2. April 5, 2010 6:17 pm

    >Your boys looked so HANDSOME! And from the way Scrappy was proudly parading around, you'd never know he was tie-disinclined. Have a great week!

  3. April 5, 2010 6:43 pm

    >Aww..look how cute they are! Glad you had a great day! We're also off this week. Sage is bugging me to play with her American Girl dolls. I want to kill myself. Instead, I will go play…

  4. April 5, 2010 10:28 pm

    >Ha, that's supercute imagery – both literal and literary. Fishing near your computer screen? Beautifully subtle. My (large-ish) dogs tend to barge in using the keyboard with their paws and heads. I'm waiting for the day this occurs while I'm on Twitter. Ugh.Happy Easter, darling!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

