Skip to content

>Home is…a favorite Easter memory

April 7, 2010

>Once upon a time, there was an old wisteria vine.

Her knarly, knotty trunk had long since ceased to be supported by the arbor high above her. Instead, her tangled wooden vines upheld the fragile, rotting beams.
Every year, along about Easter-time, she’d unleash a fireworks display of violet. Each delicate, trailing cluster a sweet-smelling harbinger of spring.

Early one summer, as the faithful old wisteria was doing her best to swallow the arbor whole (and maybe even the house beyond it), a handful of her vines were cut away.

In the hollow, a basket was placed, and in the basket, a newborn baby boy.

Just a few days old, a chick in a verdant nest, he barely filled the tiny square. The old wisteria’s long and supple vines were twined around this wee crib, yet on he slept, cozy in her shade on that hot, summer day.
Nine months later, just as the old wisteria was gathering strength for her annual Easter display, the dimpled cherub once again came to visit. On a table beneath her boughs he sat, with bunny and basket, blue eyes laughing at his new toys.

The next year, when Easter came, the little man was just old enough to sit, propped on her ancient branches. Held aloft by a friendly arm out of sight, he reached in wonder for her fragrant blooms.

Another year went by and with her blossoms came a sturdy lad of almost three, who climbed her branches and perched among them, captain of his viny ship.

Sadly, that was the last year for the old wisteria vine. Her ancient trunk had begun to tear apart. In vain she tried to return to her former glory, but finally, she was no more.
Easters came and went, a second dimpled man-child began to appear in the annual family tableaux, but without the old wisteria’s sweet violet backdrop.

Though it’s been three years now, the memory of her bower never fades, and the images of her precious cargo will long remain captured in my favorite recollections of Easter.

I cried when we cut her down. She was a friend, not a plant, and one of the primary reasons I fell in love with this crazy, dated old house. But she was so fragile, (and so in the middle of my new breakfast patio) that with the new backyard plan, she was the first major removal.

A new arbor we still await, but when that day comes, you can be sure a wisteria vine will be planted to once again frame our Easter memories.

I promise I will NOT write about my yard next week. Cross my heart.

Don’t forget to step on over to Reluctant Entertainer today for more Easter memories!

Home is...

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 12:58 pm

    >What a beautiful post! Your man children are beautiful boys. . . and believe me, I know whereof I speak when it comes to beautiful boys!I can imagine your heartbreak when you had to take out the old wisteria. Its fragrance is my favorite part of spring. How can such a delicate-looking flower smell so strong? It's fairly hynoptic.Enjoy your beautiful family!

  2. April 7, 2010 2:10 pm

    >Oh, these pictures are such a precious memory. What a wonderful Easter memory!

  3. April 7, 2010 2:14 pm

    >This is so beautiful. You have to submit it to a magazine or something! I'm serious. I loved this post and thanks for linking up today at RE!(I just tweeted it) 🙂

  4. April 7, 2010 2:41 pm

    >Beautiful pictures and so sorry your beautiful tree is gone.

  5. April 7, 2010 2:51 pm

    >what sweet photos! We've celebrated Easter with one of those same vests, too! 🙂

  6. April 7, 2010 4:15 pm

    >Totally reminded me of The Giving Tree. You have a great voice, and a great gift for eraching an audience.

  7. April 7, 2010 6:46 pm

    >oh.my.goodness what beautiful children, and such amazing photos!!! I too love wisteria, such a dreamy flowering plant! Lovely story, thanks for sharing! :)Blessings,Stacey

  8. April 8, 2010 12:09 am

    >How beautiful is this post! It is written so eloquently and the photos are amazing. Oh my…I am just simply in love with it. I could go on and on…I am so glad I did not post mine – it is not a sweet story like this.

  9. April 8, 2010 2:01 am

    >Wow! This is really beautiful. What a precious story and memory! You have a wonderful way with words. I am looking forward to reading more of your posts. So glad I found you!

  10. April 9, 2010 7:35 am

    >I love reading about your garden, it's so inspiring to me at the moment, on the 21st May we will have our own garden finally!It's great to read about how much the tree meant to you, the photos are incredible.Have a lovely day,Jade

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

