Skip to content

>Giving Week

April 20, 2010

>I was invited by Jordan Watson over at Freestyle to participate in Giving Week – the premise is to give back – give when it’s not a giving occasion, like a birthday, or an anniversary, or a holiday.

Give of yourself. Give of your time. Give something to someone else. Make it meaningful.

Now write about it.

So I thought a lot about this yesterday and I’ve got four things I want to share.

The first thing that came to mind was giving graciously – unexpectedly – undeservedly. Early last year I wrote about this type of experience and how it felt to be that giver. And how it probably feels to God to give that way to us.

Second – I thought about how hard it is sometimes to be the recipient of such grace. Allowing others to give is really hard for me. I don’t deserve it, I can’t usually return the favor. It’s a true lesson in humility to allow that kind of grace, to accept it, revel in it, and rejoice in it. You can read about one of my experiences here: Lessons Learned.

Third – one of the easiest ways you can bless someone else is to invite them into your home. Hospitality is a dying art – we are so caught up in our supposed need for perfection we’re afraid to swing wide the door and welcome others in. But how lovely is it, on the rare occasions when you have been invited in? How did it make you feel? Did you care about the dust bunnies or dusty mantel? Did you mind the mis-matched silverware or grubby carpet? No, I daresay you never even noticed. What you probably remember is the laughter or the communion. The fellowship and the sharing. The connection with others, in their own space, in their home. Just do it. It’s not that hard.

Lastly, on serving. I was laying awake in the middle of the night last night thinking about this. Thinking about how I was a lost, lonely young woman, just out of college, living in a different country (ok, different state). I had left my family, the world I knew, my friends and my home church behind. Everything was different. The church I found was different. I didn’t like their singing. The congregation was too small. I floated in and out on Sundays for a few months, like a ship without a rudder. Adrift. I knew I couldn’t keep on like that. Something had to change.

What did I do? I volunteered to serve. I jumped in, started teaching a class of middle school girls and began to have fun. I made friends. I belonged. I was part of a community once more, and suddenly all the things I didn’t like didn’t matter any more. I spent three years teaching, helping out in Children’s and Student Ministry at that church, and was richly blessed by the experience.

In serving, I was served. Giving my time gave me so much in return.

So, there you have it. Give something back this week. It’s Giving Week.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 4:23 pm

    >"What did I do? I volunteered to serve." This I love. Watching kids move from teen-church-group-innundated-with-activities-and-belonging to young-adult-without-structure-having-to-work-at-belonging breaks my heart. What so many kids who've been spoon-fed church aren't getting is that sooner or later you have to stop being a spiritual sponge and start bessing others in order to grow. Thanks for sharing your wisdom and experience!

  2. April 20, 2010 4:48 pm

    >Love this. Let's use it as a guest post on my blog? What do you think? Email me.

  3. April 20, 2010 5:20 pm

    >I love this 🙂 Thanks for sharing this :)Found you from Sandy's retweet 🙂

  4. April 20, 2010 5:32 pm

    >So very true. I forget so often as I get caught up in my own little world to look outside sometimes with a servants heart.

  5. April 20, 2010 5:57 pm

    >Adelle, Thanks so much for participating in #givingweek. It has been great to connect with you because of this week. I'm looking forward to seeing how your response inspires others to give freely and unexpectedly this week. Great thoughts. Thanks for sharing. And thanks for being apart of the movement!

  6. April 20, 2010 5:58 pm

    >Adelle, Thanks so much for participating in #givingweek. It has been great to connect with you because of this week. I'm looking forward to seeing how your response inspires others to give freely and unexpectedly this week. Great thoughts. Thanks for sharing. And thanks for being apart of the movement!

  7. April 21, 2010 2:07 am

    >Beautiful sentiments! And you're so right about inviting people in. We stopped by a friend's house the other day and she was SO happy to see us. Her house was spotless, though! 😉

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

