Skip to content

He Makes Aprons Look Sexy

April 21, 2010

I had great aspirations for this “Home Is….” post on aprons. We have a lot of aprons tucked away in the utlity closet near the kitchen. Some are fun, some are silly, but mostly they are just plain white and serviceable. Only one of them, however, is mine.


Featuring this photo of Scooby at four months old, it was a gift from a friend. It reads: “I make great pies. Cutie pies, that is!” I think so, too. (Does that make me vain??)

The rest of the aprons, though, belong to him. Raised in restaurants, he is as comfortable slinging a whisk as he is setting a volleyball. He really can’t stay away – even when I’m cooking he sneaks in and snoops around. “Are you going to stir that?” “That looks done to me.” “Why are putting that in there?” And he picks up a spoon, and 30 seconds later he’s running the show and I let him.

He likes his aprons plain white. Large enough to fit his broad frame. Sometimes he’ll wear the bib, others he’ll fold it over and just wear it around his waist. He’s not afraid of getting them dirty. With them he wears a generously-proportioned dishtowel thrown over one shoulder.

I used to have a huge complex about it. Don’t get me wrong, I CAN cook. Or rather, I can bake. I’m a dab hand at cakes and pies. I’m great at slow food. But him – he can COOK. He can chop and slice and dice and julienne and he even knows how to fold cloth napkins like a swan or a Bird of Paradise. He’s the real expert, and I freely admit it now – he’s way better than me. If there are more than two pans going on the stove at the same time I start to cry. I like to be able to mix it all together and put it in the oven, set a timer, and walk away.

Fire? Steam? Scalding water? Doesn’t bother him a bit. The more danger, the better. He can saute and he can stir-fry and he can whip up a fantastic omelet or remoulade. Chili to die for, Steak Diane, crab cakes. baked-stuffed fish, steak-and-mushroom pie, chicken dijon, hollandaise from scratch and what we fondly call “Kitchen Sink Spaghetti.”

This doesn’t make me a failure as a wife. It makes me a lucky, lucky girl.

All that being said, I had planned to take some great pictures this week to include with my post. But, life is what happens when you’re making other plans, and this is what life brought this week. Work. And lots of it.


I cleaned my kitchen and staged it just for our photoshoot. Planned out a meal so I could snap away while he did his thang. What happened instead is that the kids got hungry, I did the “thang” and he kept on working. And working. And working.


And at 8pm, when I took this photo, he was till working.

Not that I’m complaining – work is good, especially for a realtor. In California. In 2010. Work is GREAT.

It’s not what I planned, but that’s ok.

And because boys in the kitchen are just part of our household routine, I already had some photos from the past to share.

Two little boys aren’t immune to the fact that Daddy is always in the kitchen. They love to pull up a chair and get their hands dirty.

From an early age, he’s been teaching them. I like to think that this is a gift we’re giving their future wives.

Every morning, he wakes up early with the kids. They start breakfast together. Sometimes it’s cereal, or eggs. Waffles or pancakes on the weekends. Oatmeal when it’s cold outside (always with real maple syrup). And then he starts my coffee – every morning, a hot latte lands on my bedside table as my wake-up call. The boys often give him a hand pushing the buttons on the espresso machine.

I may not have an apron picture to show you, but he even makes wearing babies look sexy. Still manly with his shades and Jawbone, and instead of a dishtowel, a rainbow blankie. Instead of an apron, he’s sporting a chubby chunca-munca on his chest.

I like a guy who’s not ashamed to wear a baby. It was really cold that day. We jokingly said this was G with his parasitic twin.

You’ll have to take my word for it on sexy husbands in aprons. But I think you’ll agree with me on this:

Like I said.

I’m a lucky, lucky girl.


11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 1:25 pm

    >Yes, indeed you are very lucky. My husband made me a meal once. We were dating. It was about 22 years ago. Spaghetti!While it was very excellent somehow I think it took all of the desire to cook right out of him and I have been doing it since. lolNo worries, he is great at anything technical and I am not so I am blessed as well.This was a very cute post.I'll be back to visit again.Becky K.Hospitality Lane

  2. April 21, 2010 3:25 pm

    >My favotie shots are your two little boys on chairs with their hands on their hips, and the (incredibly adorably chunky) parasitic twin. Love it!And yay for work! So happy for you guys! Your hard-working and suuuper talented hubby deserves it. (Not that I'm biased or anything. He's only the best realtor ever who helped us get our dream house!)

  3. April 21, 2010 3:59 pm

    >Gotta love the boys in aprons!

  4. April 21, 2010 3:59 pm

    >Such a cute post! You guys are an amazing team – and you both lucked out when the other agreed to marry you! I can attest to the closet full of aprons, and I was kinda hoping to see a picture of the one from Italy…hahaha.

  5. April 21, 2010 4:11 pm

    >Thanks everyone! And B, I'm saving that photo for another post…hee hee. Cropped appropriately, of course.

  6. April 21, 2010 4:11 pm

    >OMG, love this post. You are such a talented writer, just waiting to be discovered! hee hee.Now I know a bit more about your family – and your kitchen!My hubby gets in the kitchen now and then. I think he's more creative than I am, especially using what's in the garden. Hey – there's a post idea!Thanks for linking up today at RE.

  7. April 21, 2010 4:26 pm

    >With or without the apron he is a good looking guy and so are those boys 🙂 You are indeed lucky. Nice to see them all cooking in the kitchen together.

  8. April 21, 2010 11:19 pm

    >What an adorable post! I just loved it!

  9. April 28, 2010 6:03 pm

    >OK – you are my favorite apron story. The way you talk about your husband is oh so sweet! This entire post is really beautiful even if there is no hubby in an apron. You are a lucky girl! And here is to more work for California Realtors! Man, I remember when we moved to the Monterey Peninsula everyone was a Realtor – life was good…I hope to see more realtors lurking about soon!

  10. Sharon Ink permalink
    September 11, 2012 9:55 pm

    I LOVE this post. It’s one of my favorites! You are both very Blessed to have found each other —- isn’t GOD Good? 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Gratitude Monday | Adelle Gabrielson

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

