Skip to content

>Friday Favorites

April 23, 2010

>
Now, let’s just get something straight. As a general rule, I do not go for low-fat, low-calorie substitutes. I hate low-fat mayo. Low-fat cheese is barely more palatable than cardboard. I don’t even really like Splenda; it gives me a stomach ache. I personally think they are a waste of time. I’d rather reserve my calories until I can afford to eat the real thing, rather than waste them on something inferior. Or just eat a tiny little bite of something fantastic than a big hunk of nothing-very-good. When I bake, I bake with butter. Butter really DOES make it better. Not often, but it’s so worth it when I do!

But rules are made to be broken and I am going to break this one.

I LOVE SKINNY COWS! No, actually, I love Drumsticks ice cream cones. LOVE them. Total 5 year old indulgence, and if I could just go around and bite the end off of everyone else’s cone and not start a riot, I would. And then came The Skinny.

Skinny Drumstricks. I can honestly not taste any difference – there’s some nice fudge-y or carmel-y goo on top, lots of ice cream and a cone that, just like the real thing, is lined in fudge. Right down to the blessed one-inch-of-divine-fudgey-ness at the end. Mmmmmmm.

It’s going to be in the 70’s again this weekend. Time to stock up.

Calories 150; Calories from Fat 25; Total Fat 3g

Just so it’s totally clear – I get nothing from all these Friday Favorites and What’s Not to Loves…Nothing. I just do it because I love marketing and word of mouth marketing is powerful. I like talking about what I like. The end.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 5:46 pm

    >Thanks for the tip, Adelle! My kids love Drumsticks and now we will have to try Skinny Cows.

  2. April 24, 2010 12:17 am

    >I LOVE Skinny Cow ice cream sammies…they are yummy and were my sole source of nutrition during law school exams – Fresca, Skinny Cows and one bagel after my run in the morning… I was definitely a skinny skinny girl (single and pre-kiddies).

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

