Skip to content

>(Un)Disturbed Sleep

April 25, 2010

>I remember a time when I would go to bed when I felt like it, I woke up when I felt like it, and I even took a nap, when I felt like it.

That was a long time ago.

I don’t have kids waking in the middle of the night to eat anymore, but I do have nightmares, potty-runs, and a vast array of other nocturnal wanderings.

This morning, at 5:30, a light show was beaming out of one bedroom and into mine. (He slept in a tent last night and we gave him a flashlight to sleep with. Parent Fail.)

I even have, in the morning, a wake up call that consists of 46 and 34 lb missiles (that would be 80 lbs, combined) projecting on to the bed, crushing my limbs. Upon landing, the two missiles begin fighting over who gets to be where, and I’m the one in the middle getting mauled.

I know that someday I’m going to look back on these days with fondness, but right now I’m looking at the bruise on my shin.

I love this quote my brother sent me on Friday:

“They are oh so cute and then they suck the living life right out of you. Blessed be my mother and my father.”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2010 5:40 pm

    >Ah, yes. The fight over bed space. I know it well. In fact, Sage landed her full wait on my shin this morning. And the baby doesn't even know yet that he's going to have to fight for space one of these days…

  2. April 26, 2010 2:39 am

    >I can't remember the last time I took a nap…and my kids are in their teens! LOL! I just live on coffee.

  3. April 26, 2010 3:26 am

    >I was glad the list at the bottom took me back to "Is this the last time" because I had missed that. As one of those God put in your life who is just a little farther down the boymom road than you are (ok, ok, a LOT farther down the road!) I want to remind you to save a Winnie Pooh plate, or spoon, or faded tee shirt to pull out and use with a grandchild in the future because these wonderful times you write about so beautifully will come back to you so multiplied with love that you will feel showered with blessings! Maybe this is a little glimpse of what God means when He describes Himself as "I AM". Past, present, future….love only a mama can know! I am so proud of you for capturing your "Now" and not letting life happen while you make other plans. Love you all!

  4. April 26, 2010 6:50 am

    >As a different voice from the parents looking backwards: it's the posts like this that want me to keep on the hormones for just a little while longer…:) I love my sleep!

  5. April 26, 2010 8:05 pm

    >Heee, heee, heee, heee, heee!!!

  6. May 3, 2010 5:03 pm

    >Oh yes bruises! This morning after I was woken up by a hungry infant, I was forcibly cuddled by probably 70-something pounds of boy (2 that is), while trying to protect said infant that somehow was taking up my entire side of the bed with his only 12 pounds. At this point I asked John why they insist on beating me up every morning. I guess I am loved…

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

