Skip to content

>Monday, Monday

May 11, 2010

>I think I come across as a pretty confident person. I walk fast, I talk fast, I don’t mosey, I stride.

If you ever would like a way to bring someone down a notch, make ’em go see the doctor.

After boldly striding into my local clinic yesterday, bantering and laughing with the front desk ladies, I am led to the back and handed…a backless hospital gown. The kind technician even reminded me that the opening goes in the back.

Thanks so much.

In less than five minutes, my bold strut reduced to meek shuffle as I huddled in the corner of a busy hallway wearing nothing bad said backless hospital gown wrapped as far as it will go each way, and, my shoes. Purse and pants in my lap. Dignity in the garbage can.

That’s me, the mouse in the corner, hoping no one will notice until after this ordeal is over.

It’s all good – nothing but a much-needed x-ray to diagnose some chronic hip pain I’ve had over the past year. I blame Scrappy, who hit 30 lbs before he was 2 years old. That’s a lot of extra weight to tote around on your hip.

This blog has been way too serious lately, so I thought you’d enjoy that mental image of imperfect little me.

At least I was wearing cute shoes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2010 3:21 pm

    >Gotta love those backless gowns 🙂 Glad to hear that your are in good health and that you had on cute shoes. My family still recounts stories of me walking down the hospital hall clueless to my backless gown after M1 was born. Hydro glow bum to the world Yikes!!

  2. May 11, 2010 3:33 pm

    >Those gowns should be outlawed. Glad you survived!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

