Skip to content

>Home is…a Mother’s Day Memory

May 12, 2010

>
The last time I saw my mom was on Mother’s Day. We didn’t know at the time that it would be the last time. But it was – by the end of August she was gone.

Her birthday is in November. She died in August. But I miss her most on Mother’s Day.

The first year after she died was, of couse, the hardest. I was pregnant with Scrappy. Swollen and moody, I found myself in the cute town of San Juan Bautista. There I did what I always do in quaint little towns, I shopped the local boutiques.

I found a darling little shop in a renovated cottage. The yard was full of found objects and garden-ware. Inside was even better. My first thought as I stepped through the door was “Oh! Mom would love it here! I should buy her something for Mother’s Day!”

And then reality descended like a chilling curtain. I went back outside, stood on the porch, and cried for all that I had lost.

Then I gave my shoulders a little shake.

And I went back inside.

And I bought us a Mother’s Day present.

Two little cast-iron bird feeders, sweetly distressed. They called to me. One a bit larger than the other – a mother and daughter pair they were. For she and me, a memory. Buying gifts for her was always a pleasure. A treat.

This last gift for her was such a gift to me.

Every year I pull them out right after Christmas. At Easter they hold eggs and moss, or soaps in the guest bath. In summer I float roses. They make me smile, every time.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom. I miss you so much!

Shown here on a side table made of the white luggage she bought for her trousseau. One of my favorite things! And hanging nearby, an antique quilt hand-sewn by my paternal grandmother.

For more Mother’s Day memories, visit Reluctant Entertainer today!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 3:53 pm

    >Awww I loved this post. I lost my mom 6 years ago and still always say "mom would have loved this", etc…She passed away in March and that first Mother's Day was very hard.

  2. May 12, 2010 4:04 pm

    >So sweet. Thanks for always sharing so honestly!

  3. May 12, 2010 4:14 pm

    >I love those little feeders, and love them even more for what they are to you. Thanks for sharing!

  4. May 12, 2010 4:29 pm

    >Thank you for sharing. I hope you are blessed by doing so.-Kari

  5. May 12, 2010 7:36 pm

    >Touching story. Your Mom would be proud! Thanks for sharing. BlessingsRoxanne

  6. May 12, 2010 8:34 pm

    >I thankfully still have my mom…but can only imagine the hurt and sadness. I feel for you. I love your bird feeders what a wonderful memento to remember your mom.HollyPS-San Juan Bautista is so unique…but I have never gotten to shop there…I so want to escape for a day and to that.

  7. May 12, 2010 10:16 pm

    >Very emotional! Can not even imagine. How sweet to have had a wonderfful mother to share your life with and that you were able to buy the two of you a mother's day gift! Very inspiring!

  8. May 12, 2010 10:19 pm

    >What a dear mother you had and what a sweet daughter she was blessed with. How neat to be able to buy the two of you a mother's day gift. Very inspiring! I can not even imagine!

  9. May 12, 2010 10:26 pm

    >Such a special gift. I know you miss your mom every day. I'm very grateful to have mine still with me. By the way, you have a very nice way with words.

  10. May 13, 2010 1:12 am

    >I can tell how much your Mom meant to you. I love the little feeders. Thank you for sharing with us.

  11. May 13, 2010 4:08 am

    >I just used the last gift my Mom gave to me, this weekend at our dinner party. It was a white platter. Simple, but "white." How did my Mom know how much I'd love white, 12 years ago? LOL.Loved this post. Made me think of my Mama!Thanks for linking up at RE today! xo

  12. May 14, 2010 2:12 am

    >So beautiful that you can remember your mom in such a way! Thank-you so much for sharing, it was a very touching post!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

