Skip to content

>Who am I? At least, who am I right this minute?

May 20, 2010

>I love lists – here’s my own interpretation on a new one…

Outside my window… preschoolers are playing, including my own. I spy on him often throughout the day.

I am thinking… of what I’m going to do next in my yard. Two Japanese Bayberries are going to go home with me this week. One for a pot, one to tuck behind a rose to block the sun from a fading fern. And both to add some gorgeous chocolate foliage to my greenery.

I am thankful…for so much. My family. My home. The sunshine. God’s grace and provision. Wonderful, supportive friends. And that I don’t have Rheumatoid Arthritis. At least not today.

In the kitchen…our fridge is overwhelming with green goodness. Salads this week! ‘Chokes came yesterday with our CSA. And more strawberries. Yum!

I am wearing…long sleeves today – it’s chilly for May. And flip flops, sadly, b/c the dumb toe is still broken.

I am missing…my mother. Always.

I am wondering… what to do about the three birthdays we have to celebrate next month, plus the end of school, VBS and Father’s Day.

I am looking forward to…a few days with my brother’s family over the 4th of July.

I am reading… The Help by Kathryn Stockett. Love it. Will share a snippet later this week.

I am hoping… for some summer weather, soon.

Around the house… the battle of Mom vs. Socks continues. I’m losing. I think we should all just stop wearing them, and then they won’t get lost.

Some of my favorite things… peanut-butter M&M’s, peppermint-mocha lattes, and Good Earth spice tea.

What annoys me…toilet-seat covers that fall in before you get a chance to sit. And gum that ends up tasting like PeptoBismol.

I am pondering these words… the provision of sleep and sustenance that was provided to Elijah during his time of greatest stress. God met his physical needs before he met his emotional ones. (It’s the story we read in Scooby’s children’s Bible this morning.)

A few plans for the rest of the week… GNO tomorrow night! And date-night with the husband on Saturday. Two good things.

A picture I’m sharing… seven years ago in June this is how we celebrated Father’s Day. It’s on my mind as June approaches.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2010 6:42 pm

    >Great post! Simple, but also revealing and thoughtful. I may have to copy it and make my own, I love these type of questions, and I love reading other people's thoughts. And 7 years?! Wow!

  2. May 20, 2010 11:03 pm

    >We're in long sleeves here today too. 15 degrees below normal. Brrr…Broken toe? OW!Sounds like you have one busy month coming up. And I'm with you on PB M&M's… YUM!

  3. May 25, 2010 6:54 pm

    >hey – i'm reading "The Help" right now too! Well, actually, I'm listening to it on my ipod during my not-so-short commute to and from work everyday. It's great isn't it? I'm hooked, and inspired to do something that matters! That's when you know you've read a good book…when you want to run out and change a little piece of the world.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

