Skip to content

>Random Acts of Kindness

June 3, 2010

>

Have you ever been the recipient of a random act of kindness?
I mean, truly random?

Totally unexpected. Utterly undeserved. Graciously given.

I have. Just this week, in fact.

And the true beauty of it all was not in the gift. Don’t get me wrong – the gift itself was glorious. Timely and perfect and just right.

But it wasn’t just the what.
It was the how.

Out of nowhere. Not because it was convenient, or easy, either. The giver wasn’t just around the corner, or doing it anyway, or headed in that direction.

It was deliberate. Calculated. Premeditated. Kindness.

How often do we watch for opportunities to give like that? To watch a wish float by, then reach out and grant it?

I was just stupidly commenting on Facebook. Really. I never, in a million years, expected anything to happen.

Yet someone was watching. And they took the opportunity to grant my silly wish, in an extravagant, meaningful way: it was the first day after a long weekend. It was hot. I was tired. All I could think of as I sat updating a database after lunch were these marvelous chocolate chip cookies Monica made for the Mem Day BBQ the day before.

They were huge. And soft. And squishy dark-chocolately goodness. (Let’s just pause here for a moment, and let you think about that. Can’t you just smell them?)

So I inanely wrote that on my wall. And then my friend Angela, catching my drift, wrote back that they would go so well with a latte.

Ah yes, I replied, iced!

Ahhhh. Just imagining it was good.

The day got warmer, the office got stuffier. On I trudged through my day.

About an hour later, I looked up from my work to find Monica standing in my office.

She didn’t stick around long – the iced latte and cookies landed on my desk quickly, without any hoopla. She didn’t stay to bask in my effusive thanks. She just smiled, and went back to her day.

She wasn’t on her way by, she didn’t have nothing better to do, she wasn’t already going my way. She doesn’t live right close by. She had an infant in tow.

It was deliberate. Calculated. Premeditated. Kindness. And here I sit. Still blown away by the completely unexpected joy of it all.

I can’t wait to go out and do the same for someone else. The question is now – who?

What random acts of kindness have you been the recipient of? When was the last time you were able to bestow such a gift on someone else?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2010 8:25 pm

    >What a great gift! It's so meaningful that she was paying attention to you and what might brighten your day.

  2. June 3, 2010 9:12 pm

    >Awesome! I love that we can do small things, medium things, bigger things, and bring joy, delight, peace, love, goodness, hope into someone's day.-Kari

  3. June 4, 2010 4:50 pm

    >Love this post. When I started my blog I wrote a lot about this. I had the thought today … as I looked at the bananas on my counter … who can I take banana bread to?Now the issue is time. Getting it done. I have a full day planned!It starts with a thought!Happy Friday!

  4. June 4, 2010 11:04 pm

    >What a great friend! It's a not-so-random act of kindness though, it's a very, very thoughtful friend act of kindness!

  5. June 7, 2010 1:57 pm

    >Monica was the angel in Touched by an Angel. I believe in angels. Angels do things like that for people you love. I would like to think that Monica did that for you on behalf of all of us who love you. Thanks, Monica.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

