Skip to content

>A Perfect Day

June 9, 2010

>

“So, are you taking time off this summer?”

I HATE this question – the answer is always “No. I wish!”

I wish I knew of a job that worked that way, but I’ve never had one. I work year round, five days a week, 8 to 5, 52 weeks a year, give or take a few vacation days.

But this week, I had two days off – vacation time, while the school turns over the classrooms and Cloroxes everything in preparation for the summer crowd. Summer Camp starts tomorrow, with swimming for two hours every day and field trips once a week to places like Great America and Raging Waters. It’s really a great program – and Scooby LOVES it. He can’t wait.

Scrappy will continue in preschool, with water play every day and lots of potty training. A very good thing!

And I’ll keep on doing what I do, grateful for the chance to see them throughout the day and enjoy a slower pace of life.

But the last two days were wonderful – we cleaned out the garage together, the boys and I, as a special gift to Dad (who hates to tidy up). They even left him a message on the floor in chalk. Then we went swimming. Then we ate dinner on the patio – a good dinner, because I had time to think about it and time to prepare it.

Today, we went to the beach with some friends. It was bliss. The perfect day – not too hot, not too cold, and the sun came out but not for long enough to fry us all. We all had a great time, then came home and ate popsicles in the back yard…just because we had nothing better to do.

I can’t think of anything I would rather be doing, anyway.

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

