Skip to content

The Day We Met

June 17, 2010

It was the day after Father’s Day. It was hot. A Monday.

It was seven years ago, today.

I remember being so afriad I couldn’t stop shaking. Anxious and anticipating. Ecstatic that the day had finally come. Terrified of the outcome.

When we first met, you were crying.

I cried, too.

When you heard my voice, though, you stopped, and listened.

I was fuzzy from the drugs they gave to me, but I can still remember that moment clearly – touching your tiny head with my swollen fingers. They took you from me then, and left me alone.

I cried some more. Overwhelmend with what had just happened, and overwhelmingly alone. I missed her more at that moment than I think in the last decade. Your grandmother would have loved to be there with you. I know that for certain.

We were given a room, and you were given back to me, healthy, hearing, breathing and perfect. We celebrated then – friends and family came in a steady stream the next four days. Grammie was there, and Papa, too. So many people were anxious to meet you. From the day you were born, my little son, you were special, and wanted, and loved.

I don’t remember much of the first few days but what is in these photos. I was hurting – my body that is. My heart was rejoicing in every moment with you. But it was painful, bringing you into the world.

I immediately checked you for your father’s chin – it was there. I was so happy to see it on your wee little jaw. I found you extraordinarily beautiful. I don’t think I was blinded by a mother’s love – you were exquisite.


And you still are.

Unique and wonderful. Like no one I’ve ever met before, and I love you so much it hurts. I love watching you grow and learn and become.

I can’t wait to find out who you are going to be, and how you’re going to get there.

We had a great lunch date today, you and I. I tried to tell you this story, and ended up crying all over my orange chicken. You thought it was a little weird, but I think you understood.

June 17 is an important day to me. A day worth celebrating, rejoicing.

It was the day we met.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 8:10 pm

    >Happy birthday little big guy! You're lucky to have a mom who loves you so incredibly much and a Dad who is great role model. Hugs and kisses (which I know you secretly like even though you try to run away). Love, Bethany

  2. June 17, 2010 8:11 pm

    >Oh, Adelle! This is so beautiful!! Happy birthday to your first little man..

  3. June 17, 2010 8:24 pm

    >Are you trying to make us all cry? They are all growing up too fast! Happy birthday to your eldest little man!!!

  4. June 18, 2010 12:25 am

    >Yup, choked up! So beautiful. He is is lucky to have you!

  5. June 18, 2010 12:59 am

    >How wonderful to relive this special day with you all! It's a very precious memory. Happy Birthday!

  6. June 18, 2010 2:30 am

    >Beautifully said – it made me cry with a heart bursting at the wonder of a child being born. Happy Birthday to your man to be. Lynne

  7. June 18, 2010 3:56 pm

    >Happy birthday Scoob! Your church family loves you, maybe not as much as your mom…but close!

  8. June 20, 2010 5:21 am

    >So beautiful. All of it.

  9. June 18, 2014 7:27 am

    Bawling!! It was absolutely one of the most special days in our lives! Surely though you are mistaken that it’s been 11 years! The old cliché “it seems like yesterday” certainly applies here. Love to all and thanks for refreshing the memory of a precious time.

  10. August 26, 2014 9:42 am

    Beautiful sweet post, I am enjoying your blog!

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Birthday, Sweet Boy « Adelle Gabrielson
  2. A Love Letter to My Son On His 10th Birthday | Adelle Gabrielson

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

