Skip to content

>Summer Stress! Gratitude Monday, etc.

June 28, 2010

>I don’t know about you, but the month of June, every year, just about sends me right over the edge.

It’s worse than December, I swear. Three birthdays, the end of the school year, Father’s Day, potty training (ok that’s new for this year), VBS, yada yada yada.

The end is in sight, and I wish I had run across this piece of paper sooner. My friend Renee spoke at our moms group a while back on the topic of “Finding Your Oasis (Sand Optional)”

She left us with some great information. This little list would have come in handy for me at the BEGINNING of June, but hey, it’s never too late to relax, right?

Fifteen Little Things You Can Do to Add Quality of Life:

1. Find an outdoor cafe and dawdle for a while.

2. Banter with a store clerk (I did this deliberately the other day – it was FUN. I left with a big smile on my face.)

3. Spend a couple of hours at the public library (I’ll take 15 minutes…)

4. Sit on a park bench and watch people go by.

5. Explore a neighborhood that is new to you.

6. Cover up and go for a walk in the rain (BTDT. Two thumbs up for this one.)

7. Buy yourself some flowers (I suggest Gerber Daisies. They are always happy!)

8. Go to Yogurtland! (Ok that is my interpretation of “Buy yourself an ice cream or frozen yogurt)

9. Read the newspaper and have a cup of coffee at a coffee bar.

10. Strike up a conversation with a stranger.

11. Listen to a street musician.

12. Go for a walk or a jog (or a hike.)

14. Go to a street fair.

15. Browse a flea market.

And here are a few of mine:

Eat ice cream with your kids.

Find something, anything, to be thankful for.

Stop and smell the flowers.

What about you? What do you do to relieve your stress?

No comments yet

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

