Skip to content

>How many times?

June 29, 2010

>How many times have you heard someone say:
“Oh, (fill in the blank) that’s such an easy age!”

As in, “Oh, Kindergarten, that’s such an easy age!”

“Oh, preschool, that’s such an easy age!”

“Oh, six years old, that’s such an easy age!”

Somehow, my kids did not get that memo.

I have come to realize, THERE IS NO EASY AGE.

All are fraught with danger and drama. I am never going to know what it is like to have an easy-going child.

If I keep waiting for the “easy age” to come along, I’m gonna be dead.

Here is the little hoodlum round about 10pm, after a bit of a tantrum. You’ll notice that Penguin never did get tossed overboard. He was the favored one that day, I guess.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2010 2:54 am

    >Hehehehehe…..oh, don't worry. I'm not laughing at your misfortune. I'm laughing at the little ball of indignation curled up in the middle of the bed. He thinks he's just soooooo big!

  2. June 30, 2010 11:35 pm

    >That would be M2 at around age 3 or 4. No there is not an easy age even when they are easy going because there will always be worry and compromise. I did figure something out though that may help I call it The 6 Month rule. Forget terrible two or threes. They seem to buck you more (cranky, frustrated, tantrums) every 6 months until they hit about 12 due to growth spurts. Even now at age 8 when I start asking "What has gotten in to you!!" I remember and yep…6 mths between birthdays. Growing, hormone fluxes, testosterone levels out of whack… great! But once you know that you tend to deal with them without trying to hang them from the roof by their big toe 🙂 Hang in there it does get better.

  3. June 30, 2010 11:48 pm

    >Good point, Red! They are growing like weeds right now…Unfortunately this also means that these spurts will be hitting in June and at Christmas – both our slowest times of the year requiring the least amount of cooperative behavior…NOT! We shall overcome! Phil 4:13 for Pete's sake…

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

