Skip to content

>The Soundtrack of My Life – Day One

July 1, 2010

>With the re-discovery of my iPod and my iTunes, I’m going to share some of our family’s lost favorites – many, I suspect, you’ve never heard. Be sure to let me know what you think – they all tell a story or represent a moment time for me. My personal soundtrack so to speak…

Day One –

If you’ve ever lived in New England, or spent time on the Eastern Seaboard, you’ll understand this song.

Or at least go watch The Perfect Storm first. Better yet, read the book. It’s powerful and moving and real. Just like this song.

This is for the year spent living on the South Portland harbor, watching the fishing boats go by. Best heard LOUD. On a great stereo. At sunset. With your eyes closed.

Billy Joel, Downeaster Alexa

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 9:20 pm

    >Very nice. Never been much a Billy Joel fan, but that minor hook on the chorus does make me feel pleasantly melancholy…and dare I compare him to my all-time favorite, the Awesome Bruce Springstein? I dare, because the lyrics are written in the same sort of "every man" voice that my Bruce does so well. Thanks for the tunes!

  2. July 1, 2010 11:33 pm

    >With my musical tastes a generation off and my husband being into Opera, we have extremely eclectic music on our soundtrack. Our song is "Turkey in the straw." You may not be familiar with the title, but you've probably heard it blasted by the local ice cream truck. As newly weds, we lived in an apartment that was in the midst of an ice cream truck turf war in the warm months. We would hear that song 3 or 4 times an hour some evenings.

  3. July 2, 2010 12:30 am

    >I am SOOO on this… I have TOO many songs to count. Check my now dusted off blog…

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

