Skip to content

>There’s No Place Like Home

July 8, 2010

>Today I’m thankful to be home.

I’m thankful for a great vacation, too.

For off-roading with my big brother.

And homemade Vietnamese pho.

For cousins for my kids to play with, perform with, fight with, and generally wreak havoc with.

For little boys and airplanes.

For flying instead of driving (3 hours vs 8)

For my Dad’s rock-solid focus and attention to detail (when it comes to flying) and his unwillingness to take risks.

For Alberto, who fixed our plane on a holiday weekend, and just so happened to have just one alternator in stock, and it just so happened it was just the right one (thank you God!)

For Nana, who thinks of everything, including food, water and in-flight entertainment.

For hanging out in the courtyard under a gas heater till midnight, with siblings who are more friends than relatives.

Great food, great wine, a beautiful house to hang out in, an enormous pool to lounge beside…

But, as I said, I’m also thankful to be home.

More to come…

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 8, 2010 9:22 pm

    >No matter where we may roam, there is truly no place like home.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

