Skip to content

>What I Did on My Summer Vacation

July 12, 2010

>”Ready?”

He looked at me and grinned.

In his baseball cap and sunglasses, with that boyish grin on his face, he looked 18 again, not like an older brother, five years my senior.

“Ready!”

I grabbed the roll bar and held on for dear life. The Jeep plunged over the edge.

It was a great day.

For a couple of hours we galloped over dry creek beds and through back-country vineyards and orange groves. Stopping to steal a forbidden fruit overhanging the dirt road. Throwing the peel out the roof.

It was a great day.

Arabic rock music blared on the radio. The sun was hot overhead. We talked about everything. We laughed about nothing.

It was a great day.

I don’t get to see my older brother very often. Their SoCal life doesn’t often intersect with ours. Holidays, of course. But there is always other family around to attend to. Even more rare to spend time just he and me.

It was a great day.

There is no one like Bob.

From childhood, he drew maps. For fun. I didn’t think much about this until my first Geography class. Then, I realized the mathematic level of detail this requires. He knew the 50 states before he knew the alphabet.

He loves board games. World music. Legos.

He is a kid at heart, making him perfect for his job. A young patient once insisted to his mother: “No, mom, he’s not a doctor! That’s just Bob!”

He waxes eloquent over Spanish Tempranillo or New Zealand Pinot Gris. It tastes of pepperoncinis! he crows. Try it with cheese!

We spent five days with them. The cousins, two seven, one four, one three – enemies and comrades, equally, depending on the moment.

My sister – more friend than in-law – packs a big personality and a ton of talent in her tiny 58″ frame (CORRECTION: I have just been indignantly informed that she is 59 3/4″, which is basically the same as 60″. My apologies.) Grocery shopping with Lien is like Christmas. A true foodie, she is ecstatic over basil and blueberries, local oranges and the best deal on shrimp.

We feasted. We feted. We forgot our weekaday worries and watched fireworks with the boys for the first time.

It was a great day.

It was a great week.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2010 6:25 pm

    >Love the depiction of life as an adult with adult siblings. Hard to know sometimes where we fit together, esp. when we have our own families. This sounded perfect, though. Even better that you enjoy the in-laws.

  2. July 12, 2010 7:36 pm

    >I'm glad you had such a great fourth! After spending last night talking and laughing with both my sisters, I know how rejuvinating time with loved family can be.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

