Skip to content

>Worth Repeating: Peace Like a River

July 20, 2010

>
It was on a cruise about 8 or 9 years ago. In the middle of the night. I couldn’t sleep and got up to wander the halls and see what was what.

The ship was still alive and thriving.

I found a library, of all things. Empty at that time of the night, so I poked around. I found this book, took it back to my stateroom and devoured it over the next three days.

Truly, it is some of the most beautifully written prose I’ve ever read. From the first page I was attached, riveted…but not to the plot. To the words. Enchanting, haunting, exquisite story-telling.

One of the best books I’ve ever read. One of my favorites to give away. A literary pearl. I could truly open it up and pick any passage to share with you. They are all equally compelling, but this comes from the start of the second chapter.

I now think of my survival as my father’s first miracle. Dr. Nokes himself named the event miraculous once he woke up and washed his face and remembered who he was.

The second, I suppose, is that the doctor turned out wrong about the brain damage. I’m happy to say none surfaced until I entered tenth grade and signed up for Plane Geometry, but since I can still feed myself and grind out a sentence in English, you won’t hear me complain.

Dad’s third miracle – and one of the most startling, if not consequential – happened in the middle of the night, in the middle of North Dakota, just after I turned eleven.

Peace Like a River, by Leif Enger

There now. Run to your local library and find this. Buy it on Amazon. You have to find out what that third miracle was, now don’t you? And all you boys, the ones who are reading this blog on the sly (don’t think I don’t know) this one’s for you, too. This ain’t no chick lit. This is just great lit.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 5:24 am

    >ooh, you've made me want to read it now :)Thanks for visiting my blog. It's great to meet you. I'm a follower of yours now 🙂

  2. July 20, 2010 12:58 pm

    >I do love a great book. Thanks for the tip.I'm having a "Simple Pleasures" blog party on Thursday, unless I screwed something up with Mr. Linky (ha). Hope you'll join me.

  3. July 20, 2010 4:10 pm

    >Thanks for the recommendation! I love book recommendations. It's very interesting that you discovered this book on a cruise ship, when the title makes me start singing "When peace like a river attendeth my way…" and that song was written on a cruise ship. Maybe I'm the only one random enough to make that connection.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

