Skip to content

>Transparency

July 22, 2010

>Such a huzz word these days, that.

Bare your soul. Conceal nothing. Expose everything.

Friends, this is not my forte. I was brought up by a Lady who was brought up by a Lady and Ladies don’t sit like that, nor do they air their dirty laundry in public.

Ladies go around in their heels and pearls and smile at everyone they meet. No one should ever know what’s beyond that perfectly composed facade.

Faking it is easy for me. I’ve grown quite good at the Perfectly Composed Facade.

I’m great! How are you? Turn the question around as quickly as possible.

Wonderful! Can’t believe how time is flying by! Blind them with your dazzling smile and they’ll stop asking questions you don’t want to answer.

Aren’t they, though? We are so proud! Grit your teeth and just smile. They can’t know about they morning you’ve just had.

She taught me well.

Transparency, on the other hand, is the far more difficult thing. Being real. Lettin’ ’em see the inside. Warts and all.

Naked and exposed.

I had the opportunity to do a little public speaking last weekend. That sort of thing doesn’t bother me – I like speaking, in general. But, as I wrote to a friend on Monday:

Public speaking in front of a bunch of strangers is one thing.

Public speaking in front of people you will see tomorrow is entirely another.

Public speaking in front of people you will see tomorrow about something that comes from the core of your being is on a different planet altogether.

Naked and exposed. Oh so vulnerable.

But in the end, C.S. Lewis gets it right: “Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another, ‘What! You too? I thought I was the only one’ “

And suddenly, it’s all worth it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2010 7:15 pm

    >Adelle! Beautifully said. I wish I'd been in that crowd Sunday. Thanks for always letting me be transparent with you.

  2. July 22, 2010 7:41 pm

    >I loved this Adelle. I think most people just want to know they're not alone in their struggles. The good news is we're all so very much alike, when all is said and done.Thanks for stopping by earlier. I'm not sure I'll be having a weekly "simple pleasures" party, but may do one occasionally. Who knows? Maybe we'll do the weekly thing. I'll see how I feel this time next week. 🙂

  3. July 22, 2010 11:27 pm

    >Great post. And I hear you did an amazing job on Sunday!

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

