Skip to content

How I Spent My Sunday: On Rest

August 3, 2010

…for God gives rest to His loved ones…

Ever since I decided to postpone any kind of surgical procedure on my hip for at least a year, I have been in a great deal of pain. (Oh, the irony.)

Especially at night. I’ve not been sleeping well, getting more and more tired. Friday morning, after the additional nocturnal excitement of not one, but two 7-year-old nightmares, I awoke (that term is questionable) at 6am, exhausted.

Depleted, sore, and suffering.

Arriving at work almost in tears – I had nothing with which to face my day. Following an internal nudging, I foound a Bible and sought out the Psalms. I opened randomly to Psalm 127.

And He spoke to me…

don’t despair – I will have rest for you yet.

The following day, Saturday, brought sleeping in and a relaxing day with family. Saturday night, not so much. First a nightmare, then another, then screams at 4am.

Two hours later he’d thrown up five times. Limp and exhausted, he looked up at me pleadingly: make it stop! Helpless, I changed the sheets and the jammies, and smoothed back his sticky hair and prayed for relief and morning and a shower.

don’t despair – I will have rest for you yet.

The following day, Sunday, was not the day we had planned. The trip to the zoo was cancelled. We spent it just hanging out on a gorgeoous summer day. We both got a two hour nap while the rest of the family was at church.

Now I’m writing, and he’s resting again.

And God, as always, is faithful.

tuesdays unwrapped at cats

I’m linking up today with Chatting at the Sky.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 5:36 pm

    >I talked about His faithfulness today as well! Always thankful for that!

  2. August 3, 2010 9:42 pm

    >oh Adelle… you're such a caring mama. these are the trying, and the dying, and the resurrecting moments that we'll look back upon with joy. one day. 🙂

  3. August 4, 2010 1:41 am

    >The serenity I feel flowing out of you when you write is truly amazing.

  4. August 4, 2010 5:00 am

    >Wow, poor Scoob. I'm glad you got your rest, and am thankful to a God who is ALWAYS faithful to keep his promises. Amen, and Amen!

  5. August 4, 2010 5:56 pm

    >and that's how we know His word is real. It always works.Beautifully peaceful, thank you.

I love comments! Go ahead. Give me a piece of your mind.

